Hire only for momentum!

Tony To
3 min readJul 20, 2016

--

The value I add to an early stage startup is momentum. Particularly when the founder(s) is non technical.

Having joined 3 companies at an early stage, my objective from day 1 is to introduce new momentum and super charge focus towards delivery.

Momentum is continued steps forward from the current position. One in front of the other. Not necessarily at speed, but moving.

As a new/early team member, I have the duty to:

  • be ignorant of the facts and question everything
  • be wise of my experience and learnings
  • understand team dynamics
  • be a catalyst for change
  • create a rhythm
  • deliver value

Question everything

Being the newest member on the team, means I should also act like it. Being inquisitive is different from seeming dumb. Combining insight with my experience, means I have context to challenge decisions. Most people don’t know why they are doing something the way they are doing it until it’s questioned. Future me would be happy I asked why.

Share your learnings

There are n+1 solutions to a problem. The solution that’s chosen from a set of options, depends on the context. Speak up and tell your story. It’ll probably start like this: “Funnily, I experienced a similar problem at XXX, and we did YYY….”. No right or wrong. By sharing, I learn more.

Get to know everyone

In the first two weeks, I spent 30 minutes with every single person. It’s important that my team get to know me, as much as it’s important that I get to know my colleagues. What makes them tick, their interests, problems and current focus. Offer help. Have lunch. Make coffee. Just talk and ask questions.

Make change possible

Change is normally perceived as this scary thing, but it doesn’t have to be. Early on, I won’t change anything because I lack context and knowledge to make decisions.

Instead, I making suggestions, ask questions and offer options as a way to influence change.

I chair a retrospective within my first month. The goal is to encourage the team to reflect, learn and be better, through celebrating achievements, highlighting problems and embracing actionable change.

A beating heart

Cadence/feedback cycles are critical to the success of any business, in particular a startup. To have regular, known cycles where you take stock, give feedback and learn, will give off a perception of movement.

Daily stand up, weekly 121s, fortnightly retrospectives and monthly company all hands are things we do. Introducing these give a sense of cadence at a team, an individual and company wide level. I’ve had success with these in the past and I’m expecting them to evolve as we grow.

Add value

I have no idea what is valuable and I probably don’t add core value. There’s a lot to be said from performing the 4 things listed above. Momentum will be generated.

Part of deriving value is identifying a focus. I focus on is delivery, early and often. I’ve joined fieldmargin and I’ve recently cut scope in half, simplified everything and kept costs stable. I’m delighted to say we are now in a position where we have an app that’s “pending for release”. We are gearing up to onboard customers. And the team have a tangible product they are proud of.

This has been my journey in the last 4 weeks. Aiming to build momentum with a new team, a premature product and small startup. Becoming conscious of them is really important to me.

This has not been easy. My frustrations fuel what I do and it’s satisfying knowing we’re en route to our first milestone. We need more momentum still, so let me know if you can help.

What has worked for you? I’d love to hear it.

--

--

Tony To

Travels, Swims, Cycles, Runs, Drinks coffee. Product and Technology guy.