Autumn Is the Perfect Time for a Feast Of Fungi

Head to the woods for the magical mushrooms

Tracy Brighten
4 min readNov 4, 2019
Blickling Gold, Norfolk: Tracy Brighten

Autumn is my favourite time to get outdoors and go for a walk. Pick a sunny day and the backdrop of blue sky with golden trees takes your breath away. On days like this, my worries float away with the falling leaves.

Nature is my tonic. When life’s stresses weigh me down, a walk in the woods puts the spring back in my step. When I’m breathing in the earthiness of a downpour or watching birds take flight, I feel alive.

When you walk in the same place, week by week or month by month, you see the cycle of the seasons. There’s comfort in knowing what’s to come. Each autumn, squirrels stash acorns in secret places and bats go into hiding. Migrant birds leave for warmer countries then return in spring to breed. When I connect with nature, I feel more connected to life, to the natural scheme of things.

I like to walk alone, otherwise, I talk too much and miss the sights and sounds! I see the bark on the trees and the beauty in thistles gone to seed. I hear the jackdaws “tchak-tchaking” as they settle in their roost. I watch the sun go down, casting shadows over the lake, quiet now since the geese honked into the night sky.

--

--

Tracy Brighten

Freelance writer and copywriter. Heathy nature, healthy people advocate. Sustainable living is our future. www.tracybrightenwriter.com