I am the story

Tradebits
5 min readMay 3, 2018

Author: This article was written by Mike Rogers, VP of Crypto Education & Research at Tradebits aka “Millennial Mike”

Twitter: @millennialmike7 | Instagram: @millennialmike7

Photo by Charles Sledge

“I am the story that Tradebits is trying to tell”
These are the words I spoke to my colleague when I told him that I wanted to share my personal story as a crypto investor. In an article recently written by our VP of Product, he details how cryptocurrencies offer new ways to secure financial freedom and how Tradebits, a soon-to-launch crypto exchange will offer new ways to help dreams come true for investors.

Like me, Tradebits is committed to truth and transparency, and the truth of my story is that making my crypto dreams come true has not been a journey without mistakes. As the VP of Crypto Education & Research at Tradebits, this article is the first of a series which will describe my journey from crypto novice to crypto success. I hope my personal anecdotes will provide a human context to supplement the market research, analysis and crypto education investors need to achieve their dreams too.

Millennial Mike
My name is Mike Rogers. I’m 26 years old, and like most Millennials, I am a truth-seeker.

Mike Rogers

I was born to a family of blue-collar workers in Massapequa, New York. We mostly lived paycheck to paycheck but my parents’ fierce work ethic inspired my dedication to academics and my interest in finance. I became the first in my family to attend college, and the first time I heard of Bitcoin was during my senior year while watching CNBC. As a finance major, I was financially literate and dismissed this new “virtual currency of the internet” as a scam.

My skepticism about cryptocurrency was the result of three things. First, I am my father’s son and watching him tirelessly work to provide for his family taught me the value of money, and I inherited his dislike for “get rich schemes” and dishonest earnings. Second, I am a “non-tech” Millennial. While many of my counterparts are skilled in coding and computer science, my experience in those areas is not as vast. Initially, I did not understand blockchain, the intricate technology behind cryptocurrency, and how it fosters the “trust” necessary for this market. “Virtual currency” unsupported by a non-digital asset sounded crazy.

The third reason for my skepticism involved a 2014 viewing of another CNBC program while I was studying for my Master’s Degree in Accounting. I was sitting on my futon watching “Fast Money,” and the hosts were interviewing a man holding a “Mt. Gox: Where Is My Money?” sign outside an office building in Japan. I listened to him describe how his crypto investments were wiped out when thieves hacked into the exchange and stole millions. The lack of trust and the uncertainty of the cryptocurrency market compelled me to dismiss it a second time.

Trust: The Currency of Millennials
Like most Millenials, what I crave most is trust and authenticity. I crave it in others, in myself, and in companies and institutions. My generation is the most studied generation in history and research overwhelmingly shows that trust is the commodity we most value. We have trust issues and it’s no wonder why! Most of us came of age eating genetically modified food, listening to politicians lie, and wondering who we could trust to keep us safe as we watched the Twin Towers crumble on 9/11. In 2008, we also witnessed banks that were “too big to fail” did just that. We thirst for trust but seldom find an oasis.

In 2017, after a few years working for major NYC financial institutions, I trusted that my education, professional experience, passion for research, and common sense would lead me to the truth about how to successfully invest in cryptocurrencies. I embarked on a journey of self-education and went from knowing virtually nothing about crypto (I didn’t even know you could buy pieces of a single bitcoin instead of an entire coin!) to securing financial gains larger than my yearly salary.

My quest for truth also leads me to Tradebits, a future-facing crypto exchange that honors honesty and transparency as much as Millenials. We are building an innovative, secure, reliable and scalable exchange tailored to the needs and lifestyles of Millennials and beyond. As the VP of Crypto Education & Research, I’m passionate about helping you learn how to trust yourselves as new crypto investors. I will provide reliable information about crypto, crypto exchanges, market analysis, and general financial intelligence to expedite your success and build portfolios based on truth. At Tradebits, trust is our trademark.

Education Tip #1: Create a Crypto Twitter Account

So you want to start investing in your future, but where do you start? I recommend beginning with a crypto Twitter account. Twitter is a unique resource because it houses online communities. You can use Twitter to measure the pulse of the crypto market in real-time. By creating an account strictly dedicated to following others in the crypto community, you will expedite your understanding of this market.

Please follow us on Twitter at @MillennialMike7 and @TradebitsX

About Tradebits
Headquartered in The Hague, The Netherlands, Tradebits is building the digital currency trading platform for the next 100 million users. It is the most high-performance, flexible and reliable digital currency exchange platform, capable of scaling and handling an unparalleled number of users and transactions per second and adaptable to the skill level of any trader.

Tradebits uses the same principles that power and secure the world’s most demanding stock exchanges. One of Tradebits’ hallmark features its configurability to match the sophistication level of every cryptocurrency trader. Users of the exchange will have access to 24x7 live customer service as well as a myriad of 3rd party trading apps and resources through the Tradebits Marketplace. Tradebits gives back to its community by using 40% of all trading fees for the continuous purchase of XBITS tokens across various exchanges to generate upward price pressure.

Join the discussion on our Telegram channel: https://t.me/tradebits_exchange

Read our whitepaper: https://tradebits.co/whitepaper

Project Status: Exclusive investor presale on now!

More info: tradebits.co

Author: This article was written by Mike Rogers, VP of Crypto Education & Research at Tradebits #Millennial

--

--

Tradebits

The global payments infrastructure of the future. We envision a future where transacting with cryptocurrencies is reciprocal to doing cash or fiat transactions.