Co-Sign Conversations: Parin

Transient Labs
6 min readApr 12, 2023

--

Artist Statement: Iranian-born Parin Heidari is an Ambidextrous Multidisciplinary Artist who comes from a multicultural world. In her career spanning over 15 years, Parin has been blessed to work with some of the world’s leading brands as a Graphic Designer, Illustrator, and Art Director.

Since joining the NFT space in April 2021, Parin’s focus has been on her One-line drawings that have been created ambidextrously.

She has been working with TIMEPieces collections since their first one and has collaborated with well-known musicians such as Timbaland, Christian Burns, Tube & Burger, etc.

My focus is on ‘one-line’ drawings and contemporary portraits. I use a single line with simple elements and colors to convey my own visualization of the deepest emotions we humans can feel and to make complex problems simple.

The minimalist nature of a ‘one-line’ drawing requires a lot of precision and is a perfectionist’s nightmare. Every element has its own place and intrinsic visual authority within the image.

Crafting a ‘one-line’ drawing is a visually rich and rather complex experience. It’s a process that can be painful sometimes though, as I have to ultimately give something away that’s so close to my heart.

SuperRare: https://superrare.com/parin

Largest Collection: https://opensea.io/collection/parinheidari

LinkTree: https://linktr.ee/Parindesigns

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ParinHeidari

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/parindesigns/?hl=en

“Portals”

Link to Parin’s Co-Sign piece “Portals”

Q: Who is Parin?

A: Parin is someone who believes in impacting the world in a positive way through her art and actions.

Q: Who is your biggest inspiration in this space? Why?

A: I can’t name only one person, there are so many individuals that I have learned from daily and look up to. I mention a few of them below:

“ThankYouX”: I am inspired by his technique and creativity in presenting his art into the space.

“Mondoir” is making what seems impossible possible. He has been monumental in changing artists’ lives. His knowledge of art and technology makes him one of the leaders of this space.

“Keith Grossman” is humble, knowledgeable, and willing to change the traditional mentality towards adapting to new technologies and new approaches.

“Julie Pacino” by creating a high standard in photography and film in the space.

“Tyler Hobbs” in innovation and creativity and using the technology of blockchain and translating that in his art.

“Ivona Tau” by her innovation and ability to be a trailblazer in the space.

“BT” by always thinking ahead of time and using technology and bringing music and art to the next level.

Q: What is the most exciting thing about Web3 for you as an artist? What about the most exciting thing to you about Web3 from a non-artistic point of view?

A: As an artist, removing the middleman and being able to create my own community plus having a direct and transparent relationship with my collectors has been one of the most exciting parts of the space. Also, the collaborations Web3 has brought to my life could have never been possible in the traditional art world. From a non-artistic point of view, one of the most exciting things is its potential to enable a decentralized and more secure ecosystem. This could lead to greater transparency, privacy, and security for users, as they would have greater control over their data and transactions. By providing a secure and decentralized platform for buying and selling digital assets, Web3 could create new opportunities for financial innovation and economic growth.

Q: What do you believe your biggest struggle in the Web3 space has been? Why? How do we change that?

A: One of the biggest struggles has been to integrate myself into a completely different and unknown culture to me. Although I have been living abroad for so many years, it’s still a daily effort to be acclimated to the space. People tend to forget that so many of us are non-native English speakers and come from totally different backgrounds. I’d say that in order to change that, there needs to be understanding and patience with non-native speakers.

Q: What role do you see NFTs playing in the future of the art world?

A: In the future, NFTs have the potential to continue to play a significant role in the art world by offering new opportunities for artists to monetize their work, engage with collectors and fans, and explore new creative possibilities.

For example, NFTs can be used to create interactive or generative art that evolves or changes over time, creating a new level of engagement and interaction for collectors. NFTs can also be used to enable fractional ownership of artworks, allowing multiple investors to own a stake in a single piece.

They can enable artists to receive royalties on secondary sales of their works, providing a potential new source of income and financial stability that wasn’t possible before.

Q: How do you see the relationship between technology and art evolving in the future?

A: So far, in the NFT world and Machine Learning, so many art forms and mediums that never existed before have become a part of our daily lives. In my opinion, so many creative doors will be opened to artists. Of course, traditional forms of art still remain and are loved but also the relationship between art and technology becomes more and more present.

“Bye 2021 Parin”

Q: What has been your favorite piece that you have created? Or maybe favorite is not the word. Maybe it’s the most memorable or most impactful piece you’ve created.

A: “Parallel Hopes” My collaboration with Christian Burns. This collection is based on my “Synesthesia” which is an ability to see and visualize things that I hear. Synesthesia is a perceptual phenomenon where crossed wiring in the brain mixes up sensory messages.

The Parallel Hopes collection comprises 5 bespoke, ethereal musical works performed by Christian. Every brush stroke was interpreted through my lens of Synesthesia, where soundscape and art interweave into an evocative and nuanced masterwork.

https://nft.parallelhopes.io/#/

Q: I’d love to learn more about your artistic process, could you talk about that a little bit in relation to creating your most memorable piece?

A: My focus is on ‘one-line’ drawings and contemporary portraits. I use a single line with simple elements and colors to convey my own visualization of the deepest emotions we humans can feel and to make complex problems simple.

My art is being created by utilizing both hands simultaneously. I barely look at my art while I create. I usually just look at the subject’s face and let my hands flow freely. They capture the essence of my thoughts or the subject in front of me.

One of the most memorable pieces that I have ever created, is the piece that I made for Timbaland (BeatClub) x TIMEPieces collection. It’s a one-line animation in which each frame was created in a single line and that was the most challenging yet exciting piece that I have worked on.

https://time.com/collection/timepieces-x-timbaland-the-beatclub-collection/6167832/parin-heidari-4/

Q: How does being ambidextrous influence your one-line art process? Do you find yourself switching hands frequently, or do you tend to stick to one hand for a particular piece?

A: When I create with two hands simultaneously, I barely think about which one is my dominant hand. Actually, I like the lines that my left hand (Non-dominant) creates better than the right one. I have less control over the left hand and that makes the lines less perfect, which I love even more. The fact that I don’t lift a pen, I don’t switch hands often and they create lines at the same time.

Q: How do you approach the challenge of creating a compelling image using only one continuous line, while maintaining simplicity and efficiency, and how do you determine when a one-line artwork is complete?

A: The minimalist nature of a ‘one-line’ drawing requires a lot of precision and is a perfectionist’s nightmare. Every element has its own place and intrinsic visual authority within the image.

Crafting a ‘one-line’ drawing is a visually rich and rather complex experience.

When I can see the emotions that I had in my mind on canvas, I say the piece is complete.

Q: The last thing. I wanted this to be an open opportunity for you to share anything upcoming that you’re excited about!

A: 2023, has already been a super exciting year for me. I have had so many ideas about my live performance which will turn into an NFT (The process and the created pieces) and I can’t wait to organize events and live performances.

--

--

Transient Labs

Building the impossible with custom smart contracts and NFTs || Founders: @benstraussphoto & @mpeyfuss ||