Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

This is the Neo-era

Tristan Isham
3 min readNov 28, 2018

--

We’ve all had difficult experiences with our banks. Infinite fees that make no sense half the time you get them and absurd hours that never seem to work for you are just part of the plethora of annoyances modern banking provides. I’m a customer of PNC. In 2016. the summer before I came to Kent, I switched from my previous bank because Kent State University has a partnership with PNC as the university’s default banking provider. When I signed up, PNC offered me a student account which guaranteed me, according to PNC, six years of no “zero-balance” fees. That meant that if I had no money in any of my three accounts, the bank wouldn’t charge me a fee. I thought that it was a great deal! Until of course they sent me a fee and shut down one of my accounts because I wasn’t keeping money in it. I didn’t break any terms as far as I was aware. PNC just let me down. Now the future’s leaving them behind.

Because of that incident, I no longer use PNC as my main bank. I use Square’s Cash app. It’s a Peer to Peer payment app like Venmo that lets you store money, send and receive payments, and use a Visa debit card and with any Visa accepting A.T.M.
The card comes via an already established bank, so my money is safe. But I don’t have to deal with fees, overdraft charges, or any obnoxious features I don’t want to use. I put money in. I take money out. I get money from friends, and did I mention I get discounts on a lot of…

--

--

Tristan Isham

A scatterbrain writer with a passion for technology, fascination of stationary, and interests in philosophy, politics, gaming, and formatting.