Why 2015 Will Be My Year

Troy Clark
3 min readJan 27, 2015

--

We’ve all heard it before. Everyone always says, “This year will be my year!” and they don’t act on it. Sure, they might go to the gym for a few weeks or eat healthy once or twice, but nobody seems to have the drive or determination to make these sort of things a habit.

When I decided this year would be my year, I also decided that I would not end up like everyone else. I set a goal for myself, and I promised not only myself but some of my close friends that I would reach it. Now, I’m sharing it with you:

“By the time I graduate in 2016, I want to be driving a Tesla Model S to school.”

It seems utterly ridiculous. And probably ridiculously material. What’s a college freshman going to do with a $90,000 car? No high school junior has dreams like this, so why should I?

I’ve always been an entrepreneur at heart. Even at 5 years old, I bought dog biscuits, broke them in two and sold them at a profit in my front yard. I learned from my parents about supply and demand, profit and loss, and how I shouldn’t be selling things I didn’t make.

Fast forward 12 years: I’m 17 years old and I’ve taught myself PHP & Laravel, Ruby & Rails, Javascript, HTML, and CSS. Funnily enough, I truly have nothing to show for it. My first venture, CreatorsCast, failed twice. Although I learned a lot about business, competition, traction, marketing, and growth, the project failed, and I blamed countless other things: the scope of the project was too large, the team was too small, the market wasn’t ready — all excuses I made for why the project failed. Except for one thing: I didn’t blame myself.

I simply didn’t have the drive or direction I needed to have to make that project work, and that attitude infected my team, too. Every month, I didn’t know if we’d finish the month in the black, or how we’d do it if we could. This continued for two years. I was not only deceiving myself but just being foolish if I thought anything would happen in the direction we were going.

We shut down the project, and I found it hard to look forward. I was afraid of failing again, and this held me back.

I experimented with reinventing tried-and-true businesses (a CRM, an Analytics platform, a helpdesk). I asked around to see who was doing what. I tried to freelance for friends, and I tried to freelance for companies. I made an Elance profile. I floundered around, looking for business ideas in all the wrong ways (like specifically Googling “startup ideas 2014").

Finally, I decided that this aimless wandering had to stop. I had to start something, or I wouldn’t start anything. It could be something as simple as deciding to blog, like I am right now.

So this is that start. I’m tired of a lack of direction, I’m tired of giving up, and I’m tired of blaming others for my shortcomings. This year, if I commit to anything, it’ll be this mantra:

In 2015, I will own both my successes and my failures alike.

This is the only way to reach goals, grow as a person, and learn from failure rather than fearing it.

--

--

Troy Clark

Student Innovation Fellow, Virginia Tech Technology-enhanced Learning and Online Strategies