Medium’s New Logo: A Review

Luke Trayser
Words for Life
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2017

Important disclaimer: I am a copywriter and know nothing about design.

Pros of the new Medium logo

  1. It’s spelled correctly.
  2. It’s in black and white, which makes me think of newspapers.
  3. The font also makes me think of newspapers.
  4. Remember newspapers?
  5. The little logo avatar is the letter M, which is what the word Medium starts with. Good attention to detail.

Cons of the new Medium logo

  1. I hate and fear change.
  2. Why do claps exist? My top stories used to have 200, 300, 400 recommends. My wife was really impressed with those numbers.
  3. My top stories now have 200, 300, 400 claps. My wife was like “I clapped for our 3-month-old over 600 times yesterday alone.” She is not impressed with my numbers now.
  4. It makes sense that one recommendation is a good thing, but in what world is one clap a good thing? The only time I clap once is to get my dog to stop eating poop. It works like 20% of the time.
  5. Then she licks my face and I’m like “I literally saw you eat poop 3 hours ago but here I am letting you lick my face so who’s the real dummy here?”

Verdict on the new Medium logo

  • Going from reccos to claps has thoroughly emasculated me.
  • I am a beaten man.
  • I have poop on my chin.

2 out of 5 stars.

--

--

Luke Trayser
Words for Life

ACD and copy guy at Ivor Andrew. Freelance copywriting mercenary. Not my real hair. Get in touch on Twitter or email ltrayser at gmail.