The Incredible Storytelling Artistry of u/shittymorph

An appreciation of Reddit’s premier bamboozler.

Luke Trayser
4 min readFeb 5, 2019

“In nineteen ninety eight the undertaker threw mankind off hеll in a cell, and plummeted sixteen feet through an announcer’s table.” -u/shittymorph’s reddit bio

I can’t tell you the first time shittymorph tricked me. It’s happened too many times, and any answer I give would simply be a guess. But I can certainly tell you the last time it happened: last week. In a popular Reddit post on r/gifs called “VR changes everything” (playing below), I saw a comment that had been awarded 12 silver, 3 gold, and 1 platinum.

The comment with all those awards was one long paragraph of text. It had impeccable spelling, grammar, and word choice. It told a compelling story that I found genuinely interesting. All telltale shittymorph signs, but I was too intrigued to notice them.

Then I got to the all-too-familiar end of the comment.

--

--

Luke Trayser

ACD and copy guy at Ivor Andrew. Freelance copywriting mercenary. Not my real hair. Get in touch on Twitter or email ltrayser at gmail.