The World Has Emily Dickinson Because of an Affair.

Tullia
8 min readDec 4, 2022
“Emily Dickinson” by Amherst College Archives is marked with Public Domain Mark 1.0.

“That I shall love always, I argue thee that love is life, and life hath immortality.” Emily Dickinson.

Emily Dickinson is unquestionably one of the most famous English language poets in the world. Growing up, I heard the legendary story. She was a recluse who did not marry or have children. In fact, in her later years she never left her home. It was not until after her death that her writing and their brilliance were discovered.

Through the years I have read a number of her poems and was always touched by how powerful her words were. She was strangely able to catch the perfect emotion while using the most obscure language. What, of course, contributed to the true force of her verses was that she was such a mystery herself. One gets the feeling there were many layers to this peculiar woman.

But what if there were even more extraordinary details to the acclaimed poet’s story?

Oh yes, Patient Reader, grab a cup of coffee because you are going to want to absorb this story.

For the loyal readers that follow my affair stories, this article does not examine Phil and Kat’s story. I started writing about that couple’s experience here on Medium as a way to process my own affair through a different lens. I had always been engrossed by Phil and Kat’s eight year…

--

--

Tullia

I want to disagree about the one subject there is no disagreement on….