Where is My Attention?

An Observational Log

M.E.
3 min readSep 27, 2016

Preface: For the past week I have kept a detailed observational log of where my attention and thoughts have traveled while I was on social media. To preface my summarized patterns and conclusions, I would like to tell you a bit about myself. I got my first cell phone my freshman year of high school, it was a flip phone with only the ability to text and call. I am now a sophomore in college and I still have the same flip phone. My parents bought me my first computer my junior year of high school and again, I have kept the same computer until today. I have a Facebook account, an Instagram account and a Twitter account, but I rarely (to never) post on any of these platforms.

The point that I am getting at is that I have never been enthusiastically involved in any form of social media. I cannot access Facebook or tinder on my phone, so the only time I can check any platforms of media is when I am in front of my computer, which I tend to leave in my residence hall.

Pattern #1: With all of this in mind, when recording my log I realized a very interesting pattern in my involvement in social media. I only ever checked my accounts (Facebook, Instagram and twitter- in that order) at around 11:00 pm every night. At that point in the day I have already gone to all of my classes, studied, done homework, gone to work, had office hours for my student mentees and hung out with my friends and boyfriend.

Pattern #2: Basically, when social media time comes around I am brain dead and tired and ready to go to sleep. Being aware of my mental state at 11:00 pm made me realize another pattern about my attention, it is rarely actually on the social media that I am browsing at the time. My mind is usually wandering and thinking about anything and everything, while I look at my cousin’s new apartment or my friends new profile picture.

Conclusion: The small amount of time I spend on social media platforms every night, acts as a much needed time slot dedicated to allowing my attention to wander. Unlike the rest of my day, in which I need to be focused and paying attention.

--

--