Very awesome birthday present from my very awesome mother.

This week I learned…

Anna Marie Clifton
2 min readMar 28, 2016

Earlier this week I attended a women’s conference on presence and leadership. I anticipated a lot of talk on down inflection and vocal fry, but I learned a number of novel things as well. I’ll write a longer post on this later, but some quick thoughts for now:

  • Powerful people take up time and space. Stand large and speak slowly.
  • Wanna exude confidence and approachability? Sit asymmetrically.
  • Using long, sustained, deliberate gestures helps get your point across AND use up excess adrenaline.
  • Sentences are best served at 5–7 words long.

Reading:

Learning:

  • Apple aficionados think very poorly of people with PCs more 5 years old.
  • On this Bubble scale, most of my friends in SF rate around 10 and most of my friends back home around 50. (Lower is more isolated and privileged.)
  • TuboTax is easy… but they pour millions of lobbying dollars into keeping the base state of taxes painfully difficult.
  • At 28, birthdays aren’t that big a deal anymore.
  • Star Wars legos: age 16 and up?! But still awesome.

Writing:

--

--