31-Day Writing Challenge: Day 1 — Why I Will Start Using Milestones to Help Me Achieve My Goals.

Tyson Ball
3 min readMar 1, 2022
Photo by mohammed saif on Unsplash

There are many things that I would like to achieve in my life, let’s call them goals. Many of which I would like to achieve this year. Even though we are only two months into the year, I feel like I am not on track to achieve any of them. I am fine with not achieving everything that I set out to do, but I am not ok with not achieving any of them.

Photo by Jordan Whitfield on Unsplash

I think one of the main reasons that I feel like I am not on track is that I have not reached any significant milestones. The fact is I haven’t really identified what I would consider being a milestone in the pursuit of specific goals. At this point I am flailing around blindly hoping my random actions will somehow, magically I assure you, result in me achieving a goal. But that surely is not the case. I need to establish a path with key milestones I will work towards.

Photo by Alexander Schimmeck on Unsplash

For example, I want to take and pass a Japanese proficiency exam later this summer. The thing is there are five…

--

--

Tyson Ball

Veteran, writer, and podcaster living in Japan. I write about personal growth, writing, and sometimes pop culture. My blog: www.vetmeetworld.wordpress.com