Meet the Founders: Auragon Studios

RED Labs
3 min readJul 24, 2018

--

What are you studying?

Alan: I’m currently studying Computer Engineering in Technology, but I will be switching to the Bauer School of Business. I’m trying to get into the Wolff Center for Entrepreneurship and I want to study Finance.

What’s your startup?

Alan: Auragon Studios is a company that my friends and I started. We’ve been friends since middle school and our passion is playing video games so we decided to make one. That’s how Hiraethia came to be.
Hiraethia is an anime style puzzle/adventure game, combined with things that we like, like really good art, and a interesting story line. We decided to make it a mobile game because it was the most accessible to gamers.

How’s your summer been going so far?

Alan: it’s been super busy. I’ve been having back to back events, I picked up a new job, and there’s RED Labs. But I’d rather be busy than doing nothing. It’s been a lot of work, but really fun.

How is working in a co-working space?

Alan: I actually really like it! I love being able to get feedback from the other teams and giving feedback to the other teams as well. It’s cool to see everyone progress and it’s also good to hear different perspectives too. It’s been really helpful.

What’s your favorite aspect of the program?

Alan: I really enjoy the Founders’ Lunch. I love seeing the team’s progress every week and how we can help different groups reach their goals.

How would you describe the culture?

Alan: Both really fun and professional! The mentors are helpful, and the environment here is great and there’s no judgement at all.

How do you feel about the consumption of La Croix here?

Alan: I personally like it, really I don’t like how everyone else likes it because everyone also drinks it. Please buy more La Croix. I know my team also likes it, I mostly drink it the most though.

Would you still be doing this if it wasn’t for RED Labs?

Alan: Yes, of course! We’ve been developing for over 2 years now and I don’t think we could ever stop. RED Labs has been extremely helpful to us.

What’s a random fact about you?

Alan: I enjoy skateboarding. I also played piano for 7 years, I don’t play it anymore though. But I still remember how to play!

If this team was a pop culture character/group, what would it be?

Alan: We’re a bunch of clowns honestly. If Dumb and Dumber had some sort of an animated show, it would be that.

Is there anything else you want to add?

Alan: I really enjoy my time here at REDSpark and meeting everyone here is super cool. The mentors are really helpful and we learn a lot from it.

Any advice on how to successfully start a Kickstarter?

Alan: The most important thing: It takes A LOT of planning. You gotta give it months. The #1 thing is the video, it is very important. Hire a designer if you can to help you out. Be prepared to work your tail off for this campaign.

Auragon Studios consists of Alan Phan, Jimmy Ly, Sunny Chai, and Tin Liu.

Check them out and support them on Instagram, Facebook, and on Kickstarter.

– As told to UH RED Labs

--

--

RED Labs

The University of Houston’s startup accelerator and technology entrepreneurship program. Follow us to learn more about startups at the University of Houston.