Kelly Shaver receives 2019 USASBE Wortman Award for Lifetime Achievement

Dr. Kelly Shaver

USASBE’s “Max S. Wortman Jr. Award for Lifetime Achievement in Entrepreneurship” is presented in recognition of a lifetime in entrepreneurial achievement that encompasses the ideals of entrepreneurial activity — through new venturing, corporate venturing, or social venturing. Eligibility extends to both those who have pursued a lifetime of successful venture creation as well as those whose life’s pursuits supported and advocated entrepreneurial ideals. The 2019 USASBE Wortman Award goes to Dr. Kelly Shaver at the College of Charleston.

Shaver was nominated for this award by Dr. Mark Weaver, a USASBE Fellow and 2015 USASBE Wortman Award recipient. In his nomination letter Weaver noted:

Prior winners of USASBE’s Wortman Award include Candida Brush (Babson College), Rebecca White (University of Tampa), and Frank Hoy (Worcester Polytechnic Institute). A complete list of prior winners can be found here. An abbreviated history of USASBE can be found here.

Click here to join USASBE today!

USASBE is an inclusive community advancing entrepreneurship education through bold teaching, scholarship, and practice. Learn more at

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store