How To Manage Disturbance When Writing

Four recommendations from an interruption-expert

Tommy Ueland
The Startup

--

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

“The enemy of writing is being interrupted.” — “Constant interruptions are the destruction of the imagination.” ~ Joyce Carol Oates.

She is probably right.

But for 99,87% (not quality-checked statistics)of the writers in the world, it’s a hobby or at best, a side hustle. We write in the small pockets of time between school, work, commuting, chores, socialization, etc. Sitting in peace writing for extended periods of time is, for many of us, utopia.

I sit in a closet. Only a paper-thin wall separates me from my Tik’Toking 11-year-old daughter. To my immediate left, I have the apartments only bathroom; if I reach out I can touch the bathroom door right now. Around my feet are Alvin, our neurotic dog that doesn’t like that I sit in the closet and write.

The only time I don’t get disturbed is when I am alone, and that is… When was the last time? I think It was…No..

I tell you this because it gives me the right to call myself an expert on handling disturbance. And, without further adieu, here are my four tips:

Get yourself a noise-canceling headset.

--

--

Tommy Ueland
The Startup

Father, writer, aspiring blogger, connoisseur of everyday joy and professional procrastinator.