Physician’s Formula The Heathy Foundation Review Plus Demo

Uhapi Beauty
4 min readFeb 21, 2018

--

I’ve been a fan of Physician’s Formula makeup products for many years, especially their foundations. As a consumer that is mostlyconscious about cosmetic ingredients, I appreciate their efforts to provide makeup that is gentle on sensitive skin. So, when I saw a post on their Twitter account about the launch of a new foundation with a wide shade range (for them) I enthusiastically placed my order and waited…and waited…

Physician’s Formula Healthy Foundation Review Plus Demo

Before we begin, please follow my social media for updates on all reviews, as well as mini reviews you won’t see here. Click the links: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram. Also subscribe to my Youtube here. Side note; daily nuggets are back! If you don’t know what they are, scroll to the end of the post.

The Physician’s Formula Healthy Foundation retails for $14.95 on their website for 1 fl oz. On Amazon, the cost is $12.95. As of today, January 29th, it’s still unavailable on Walmart.com. Get it together Walmart! Ulta.com has it for $12.99 and if I’m not mistaken, is eligible for the $3.50 Ulta coupon.

It comes in 16 shades that is separated into 3 undertones; Warm, Cool, and Neutral. Navigating their shade range is somewhat complicated at first glance, especially online. I’m including the screenshot from PF website below.

Usually, warm is a yellow undertone and cool is a pink undertone, but the photo (above) makes it difficult to distinguish which is which online. Since this is their first EVER launch that includes more than a handful of shades, it’s practically impossible to choose correctly. I’m not sure what to expect. I wish they included a simple description about each shade, but I digress…I found a very helpful swatch chart courtesy of Slashedbeauty.com.

The packaging is VERY nice. It’s a glass bottle with a chrome, screw-top lid. In true form, I broke mine trying to pull it open rather than unscrew the first time.

The foundation has a large, doe-foot applicator (exactly like Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation) so application is easy. Check out the size comparison from a regular concealer wand.

On their website, they claim the coverage is medium to full — yet buildable. Where’s my bullshit button? This is sheer as sheer can be! It is buildable though. It took probably 4 layers with a damp sponge to get medium to full coverage. Once it dries down, it has a very natural, skin-like, satin finish. There is a light, acrylic paint scent reminiscent of the Wet n’ Wild Photo Focus Foundation. It does disappear a few minutes after application. Although the foundation has an SPF of 20, it still performed great in flash photography. I’m including a video below demonstrating application, wear test, and final thoughts.

Final thoughts: This foundation has been getting a lot of buzz from the Youtube beauty community and I get it — props to PF for widening their shade range. There is still plenty of room to grow. I also think they did a great job with packaging. However; this foundation just doesn’t do it for me. I have dry/combo skin and as the day went on, the foundation clung to dry patches tremendously. It also emphasized texture under my eyes — to the point that it looked like plucked chicken skin. It also got cakey around my nose, chin, and forehead. This may have been due to the amount I applied to achieve decent coverage? I really don’t know. It didn’t start out that way. Either way, 4 hours was long enough to know I didn’t like this foundation. I’m sorry PF, but for me, this foundation is a pass.

Thanks so much for reading my Physician’s Formula Healthy Foundation Review plus Demo! If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me anytime. Don’t forget to follow my social media for updates on all reviews, as well as mini reviews you won’t see here. Click the links: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram. Also subscribe to my Youtube here. See you soon!

Check out my last few reviews:

Daily Nuggets:

  • My micro-mini, pot-belly pig, Amos, is 300 pounds. Not so micro or mini.
  • His bed consists of a twin-sized human mattress that is covered with approximately 20 now tattered & torn blankets.
  • I have a TJ Maxx candle obsession. My favorite is Vanilla and Tobacco from the brand Scentsational.
  • It is currently 26 degrees outside. We are in the depths of Winter and I cannot part with my Birkenstocks. I wear them rain or shine, snow, blizzard — doesn’t matter.

--

--