2022 in review— I Saw and I Conquered

UkDev
5 min readDec 30, 2022

--

Welcome… since you’re here already.

Oh while I live, to be the ruler of life, not a slave, to meet life as a powerful conqueror, and nothing exterior to me will ever take command of me. -Walt Whitman

You see, I was never going to do this because procrastination got the best part of me this year. Although I am writing, really fighting the “Ba la blu” urge (The urge to not write rubbish).

2022, What’s in the year 2022? Phew. This post is supposed to be for my wins and losses right? So I heard. Yes, I am a first-timer. I haven’t done this before and I’m glad I can do one this year.

To be honest, I do not remember a lot of things that happened in my life this year but I will try and share as much as I can recall.

2022 started with me being so obsessed with my little friend Amante. She’s a lot bigger now, so I am a little scared. Lol

Below is an image of Amante.

Amante
Baby Amante

While in my obsession, I was out of a job, I had left my job as a refund officer at a shipping company the previous year and had no idea where to begin my Tech journey. Was just living on vibes and Insha Allah. It was not the best time for me, I mean in this tough economy?

While on that, I had my side hustle (Making bracelets and beaded necklaces and waist beads) to sustain me financially. It was far from enough. So yea, you can imagine.

In all of these, I was applying to jobs as a flutter developer as I have taken some courses online and finished a boot camp. But I got all the rejections. The first quarter was #OSCAFEST22, my first Tech event for the year and there I met some incredible people who are in my life currently. I officially volunteered for an amazing course this period as well. I was a programming instructor at the Women’s Technology Empowerment Centre (WTEC).

This year was also the year I made roughly 100k as gain in my side hustle (The losses are there tho). I tested so many waters this year too. From trying social media management to being a flutter developer (I never made shishi from this, lol.) to product management to community management. Fun fact, I was totally confused at the start of the year but I am happy somehow I found clarity in the long run and I am happy to explore another side of me I’m yet to unlock (I know I can be so much).

I finally got a job as a community manager in the second quarter of the year, it was going well. I did my best but got laid off in the last quarter of the year. I stayed without a job again. Before the role, I got tons of rejections while applying as a CM. I went broke so many times while on this job, and I cried so many times. So many ups and downs man. But I am thankful to God almighty for today.

In 2022, I lost, I won, I laughed, I cried, I loved, and I fell out of love, but I did not fold. Too many times committing suicide came to mind. Y’all, I saw _shege pro max_ (extreme problems) and I kid you not. Using this medium to give a shout-out to all Nigerians in Tech. Y’all rock.

While this year wasn’t my best year, I have some good things that I am thankful for.

- Got my first official CM role

- Made cool cash from my side hustle

- Was able to support my family as much as I can

- Attended lots of Tech events (Thankfully because I got to learn and network at each of these events)

- Made incredible friends that have got my back ever since

- Found love

- For the first time in my life, I got to enjoy my job

- Got good reviews from my community members on my management skills

- Gave a tech talk at Google I/O Extended

- Hosted over 10 industry experts as guests in my community

- Got so much care from my friends (I’m not even crying). The love was too much, especially on my birthday and this Festive season.

- Had some significant spiritual growth this year. Shoutout to Bibi for being all I needed at the right time

- Became not just a member but an admin in my favourite Tech community (RoadTrip — RT)

- Got the best AP ever. I love you Drounz. We’re going bigger next year

- Co-organised the biggest Flutter event in Africa and also beautifully moderated the panel session

- Treated me fairly. Food, health etc

- Did little consultancy for people finding a path in Tech

- Moderated a panel for young girls in STEM. With some big names in Tech as panellists. (The organiser told me later on that I was really good at it. Hehe)

- For the first time in my life I started earning in a foreign currency

Not a lot yet but I am grateful. This year was good far from whatever 2021 offered. In all, I think I learned in few lessons too

- Don’t be afraid. Do it regardless. Pain doesn’t kill

- Don’t give up no matter how hard life throws tantrums at you

- Guide your space. Be at peace with yourself

- Care less about what people say about you.

- Set boundaries, always

- Do not lose yourself. Keep on being you. Do you and be loud about it

- The social standard is no standard

Some memories of me:

On my birth month
Beach hangout with friends
A beautiful moment with MsVick. Community lead at RT
Chilling on one pf my vacation days
Chilling on one of my Vacation days
Moderating the FlutterBytes Conference Panel session

That’s it. That was me in an overview.

What will 2023 look like for Maryblessing? How do I ensure the coming year is a remarkable one for me?

Well, your guess is as good as mine. Literally have no idea.

I am looking forward to a year full of abundance, peace, soft life, happiness and love above all. I just want me and my homies chilling. Make we just dey.

Are you still reading this? Thanks.

Wishing you the absolute best in 2023.
Stay classy,

UkDev.

--

--

UkDev

Digital marketer/Flutter App developer/Community manager