Being a First-Generation Student at Nebraska

By Edgar Estrada, ‘22

At an event for first-generation college students, they stand in a circle for discussion with “First Husker” backpacks on
Nebraska’s First Husker Program is designed to offer first-gen students support and guidance to succeed in their first semester and beyond.

When I told my parents that I wanted to attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, they questioned my decision. They questioned it because they wanted me to feel secure about it. For them, sending me off to college was a huge deal. I was leaving my home and pursuing something that was new to all three of us. Being the first in my family to leave my hometown and head off to college was difficult for my parents to think about, and I had similar feelings about it as well. There were days where we didn’t know what we were getting ourselves into or what things were.

Entering college was a learning process for us, but we got through it. We found ourselves in a brand new situation. Universities and colleges have their own culture, and for first-generation students and their parents, it feels like a new world. We don’t have the benefits of having parents who went to college and understand the culture of higher education. It was confusing at first, but UNL made sure my parents knew what all the lingo and terms were all about in an efficient manner. My parents were able to see the efforts this institution made for first-generation students, and they started to feel comfortable about my decision once they learned more about UNL and the resources.

Being a first-generation student at Nebraska has been quite special. I say that because I have been able to see the high efforts this institution has put in to help first-generation students like myself. Our campus is very “first-generation” friendly and students are able to see that through First Generation Nebraska programs, events, and resources. I have even seen it through buttons, shirts, and other merchandise that has the First Generation Nebraska logo on it. The fact that UNL even acknowledges the importance of being first-gen is critical to students like me.

Edgar poses for a photo in a photo studio

There are countless opportunities at Nebraska for first-gen students. When I first arrived at UNL, I had this belief that since I was a first-generation student, there were going to be fewer opportunities for me and that I wouldn’t have the same college experience as other students who weren’t first-gen. I turned out to be very wrong. On the contrary, my experience as a college student has evolved so much more because I am a first-generation student. The resources, opportunities, and connections one gets to have as a first-generation college student at UNL are unique, and they allowed me to grow and seek out things I never knew were attainable.

Earlier, I mentioned that UNL’s campus is “first-generation friendly.” To me, a big step into making a student feel comfortable on campus is acknowledgment. Since I knew that this institution acknowledged first-generation students and made them a priority, I instantly felt welcome at UNL. Having the realization that I didn’t have to be concerned about being a first-gen student and that it wasn’t a negative thing was a big weight off my shoulders. Instead, I have the chance to be at a university that celebrates it. When I see faculty, staff, professors, and students wearing their First Generation Nebraska shirts and buttons, I know that I have countless people on campus whom I can identify and relate with. Many first-generation professors display the First Generation Nebraska logo in their classroom and office. Being able to see that in a classroom setting is really special. Having someone to identify in a college classroom setting, and that person being the professor, provides a satisfying feeling.

Just like most things, there are struggles and challenges that come along with being a first-gen student. I have learned to view being a first-generation student as a strength, though. The reality is that sometimes being a college student is hard and stressful. When it comes to being motivated again, sometimes being a first-generation student becomes my single and only motivator because it reminds me of why I want to pursue a degree and whom and what I’m doing it for.

I mentioned earlier that I had to come to the realization that being a first-generation college student was not a negative thing. The stigma behind it made me feel that way in the first place, but we have to understand the way a first-generation student might feel when they first witness the culture of a college campus. I have to admit, I had my fair share of challenges coming into college being first-gen. There were days I had guilt for leaving home, other days I lacked knowledge on the college experience, I found myself with new social and financial issues, and I found myself living a new life. Looking back, I was very valid for having those feelings. Starting college isn’t the easiest for everyone, and each person copes with that differently. Now that I am entering my third year at UNL, I realized how great this institution is for handing me resources that help students like myself so I could relieve some of the stress I was facing with all of my challenges. I encourage you to use those resources as much as you can; I can’t stress this enough. These are resources that can make you feel at home here at Nebraska from the moment you step on campus. I wish I would have reached out sooner so that I could have had a smooth transition into college life. I am thankful for that experience, though. I learned many great lessons from it, and it made me appreciate UNL and all that the institution has to offer.

First-generation college students might find it hard to come forward and seek help. I say that from personal experience. I was so afraid to ask for any type of assistance. It was almost like I saw it as a sign of weakness and I wanted to deal with all my struggles head-on and on my own. The truth is, there is only so much you could take on your own, and I learned that the hard way. I was struggling and when I finally asked for help at the many different resources first-gen students have, I realized that there are faculty, staff, and other students who want you to succeed, especially because you’re first-generation.

College gets so much better when you start finding your own community, exploring hobbies, taking advantage of all that it has to offer, and it seems like that stuff never ends no matter what year in college you’re in or what type of student you are; that makes college so much more special. College is an exciting time for everyone, including first-generation students. You’re starting in a new world, but you’re starting some of the best years of your life.

To stay up to date, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

--

--