Cycling Training: History

Usman Bashir
3 min readOct 28, 2018

--

Its had been a challenging year. I lost my father and work had been completely bonkers. What got through alot of tough times in depicted in the photo below.

Legendary Dave giving advice

Penge Cycling Club kept me going through some of the toughest times in my life. My mates from the club were on a fantastic journey of self improvement, in terms of cycling, and conquering some of the cycling classics. Inspiring! But for me it was all about just being able to ride with them on Saturday or Sunday morning. With that in mind, since my friends were training I had to train too.

Penge Cycling Club kept me going through some of the toughest times in my life

So I embarked on a mission to get myself fit. I set myself up for what was needed. I got a coach, new bike and of course nice kit. I was recognised by the club for such valiant effort in the Christmas party. Thanks James! and those who voted for me! I found out all your names. And guess what all those punctures that you’ve been having! All me! HA! You know im kidding but it will still play with your mind.

I was making progess but I was frustrated and I didn’t know why. It all went downhill from there ( or shall I say went uphill on 25% gradient). I was losing my love of cycling. I was losing fitness. I didn’t get the support I needed from the coach I had. I was failing to finish the training sessions. I lost my training confidence. I failed my mission.

The generic coaching plan and the way things had been setup wasn’t working for me. I decided to end the coaching relationship.

I decided to take it easy, and just ride. I knew I would probably lose a bit more fitness but I really felt I didn’t have options.

Queue Entrance: Paul Mill of Elite Cycling

Paul Mill, Head Coach & Chief Shouter at Elite Cycling

Dave had been speaking to Paul about me and how I was really unsatisfied with the progess I was making. I had now problems with morale, self confidence and how to fit training in a extremely stressful life. He said he would get me fit. The work has done with Alison Coates, Dave Kennedy, Graham Blackwood & Kate Vergette is amazing. I wasn’t sure that I had the commitment or energy in me to do this. If I would get the right support. Would I get just a plan and that would be it. The successful significant improvement of all these people quelled some of those fears.

We had a chat and began training!

--

--

Usman Bashir

An Engineering Leader, A Cyclist, A Lover of Food and an Ibad of the Almightly