My White Female Co-Workers Sharpened Their Claws

Veronica Maria Brown-Comegys
3 min readJan 11, 2020

--

By Veronica Maria Brown-Comegys

I returned from a leave of absence and got fired from my newspaper reporter job, which I’d held for more than five years. I’d spent one year in Rio de Janeiro studying, conducting research for a book, and writing freelance articles for United Press International. My byline appeared in the Miami Herald, and the Hartford Courant.

The newly promoted boss, a diminutive, greasy-haired yokel, was not impressed. City Editor Boll Weevil Bollocks said I was not good enough for the Podunk Daily Newspaper, where I was the first black reporter hired. He said someone had led me to believe I could write. He meant Frank Smooth, his tall, handsome, genial predecessor. Boll Weevil croaked, “I’m not going to lie to a prospective employer about you.” Leprechaun, his cousin and assistant city editor chuckled and said, “Black Irish, it’s time for you to take your show on the road.” Another reporter said, “Weevil has problems with everyone Frank hired.” Years later Smooth was still committed to diversity. He established a foundation to assist African Americans who were interested in a journalism career.

The first person I wailed to was Polly Perfection my dynamic, natural blond neighbor. She was president of the local National Organization for Women (NOW). “You are being negative,” she said. Her surprise attack was cut short when I slammed down the phone. I thought, who wouldn’t be negative after being fired? I grumbled, “A Black woman would have mourned with me.”

Next, I turned to Lisle the corduroy-wearing librarian assistant. She lived with a gal-pal, who was fifteen years older than her mother. She assumed she would be promoted to the head librarian post when her boss retired. It won’t happen, I thought. The decision would be made by Editor Harry Leer, who was a chauvinist. In addition, Lisle’s mentor, Florence, was regal, stylish, vivacious, and had platinum blond hair. The top man launched her into the community for presentations. Lackluster Lisle was going nowhere to represent the newspaper.

I didn’t expect support from the reporter who was my age. I’d often hear her grumbling, “how does that bitch write such great articles?” After the ax fell she grinned and said, “I don’t want my name linked to yours.”

I felt as if I was in a whirlwind. I reached out for comfort. However, I discovered that all along my co-workers had been friendly enemies. They tricked me. We hadn’t bonded at lunches and at out of town conferences for women journalists. Everyone I phoned brought to light my imaginary flaws.

The editor’s secretary shrieked, “We wanted to be close, and you wouldn’t be close.” She had been fuming about that issue for several years. On my first day at work she asked if people call me “Ronnie.” I said, “No. My name is Veronica.” Her head snapped back as if I had slugged her. At some point she revealed that she thought my response meant I didn’t want to be close.

Another older woman whose home I visited several times shouted, “You knew about our personal lives, but we didn’t know about yours.” Next she said I was defensive about being black. Later a tipsy biddy roared, “You got severance pay, it wont be given again.” She told me not to call her. “I’m loyal to the newspaper,” she said. I thought, you should be. You’ve been drunk for years, and haven’t been fired. Finally, I reached someone who wasn’t abusive. She groaned, “Veronica, get away from these mean people.”

The next afternoon an uninvited visitor was at my door. I peeked out the window and saw a white car. Two of my antagonists drove a similar vehicle. The driver was not in view. The mystery caller knocked twice. I didn’t respond. I thought, it’s probably someone wanting to berate me face-to-face.

Two days passed before the phone rang. United Press International invited me to interview for a position in New York. An employee had applied for a fellowship. I laughed until I was breathless. I made reservations. Three days later UPI said, “He got turned down for the grant, he’s not leaving.” I moaned.

Veronica Maria Brown-Comegys has had bylines in the Michigan Chronicle, Lansing State Journal, Jackson Citizen Patriot, Blavity.com, ForHarriet.com, and the Root.com. Veronica has a book in progress about Brazilian culture. Follow Veronica @Brown9501

--

--

Veronica Maria Brown-Comegys

I am a Brazilianist. That means I know a lot about Brazil and love it anyway. I am writing a memoir about my time in Rio. I also write anti-racism essays.