I Have Loved a Wildflower

VH Turner
2 min readMay 4, 2020

I knew once, a Wildflower, that grew up on a mountain,
And er’y day I’d visit her at a spring that was her fountain.
Her face was fair and gentle, and shone brightly in the sun,
And through fragrant alpine meadows, joyously she’d run.

My Wildflower love was a rolling, tangling briar,
And the warmth in her eyes had set my heart afire.
So sweet was her touch that I never did wander,
For my love for another could never be fonder.

Yet as all things do, summer came to an end,
And one day no more, was my Wildflower friend.
So came the autumn, and soon winter will pass,
And I will be waiting, to see her dancing in the grass.

Written by Camponotus, California, USA

“A fool, a dog, and a collection of thoughts.”

Thank you for reading.

Vote for Camponotus @ theqgallery.com/featured-artist-vote Monday through Saturday.

--

--