Oh Dear Apple! I love you but I am concerned 😕

Aviral Agarwal
5 min readSep 17, 2017

--

Apple knows how to make noise and Apple events are no doubt the best(I still miss WWDC’17). The recent Apple event for sure was a big success.

iPhone X(10) looks stunning. Apple Watch series 3 is amazing. A11 Bionic chip being the most powerful and smartest chip ever in a smartphone is just phenominal. Kudos to Apple for that 👏🏻

A small intro about me.. I was an Apple Student scholar for WWDC’17 and thanks and love to Apple for allowing me to attend WWDC’17 and you made me learn so much. The experience was life changing and nothing can be better than that. I love Apple products and they changed my life. I spend somewhat 12 + hours around my 2011 bulky Mac and even though its old still it works well. I am doing swift from last 3 years and I am progressing well and given a chance I am happy to build innovative Apps and tech around it.

As a developer who want to build his career making Apps for Apple devices and as a consumer who would want to use Apple devices I am concerned with you Apple.

I understand the philosophy of Apple. Build great devices which no one else can do. Build products which are top notch and have a long life. My brother still use iPhone 5s and iOS 11 is working great on it.

Before I start pointing out things I am concerned about a quick look on the prices of different Apple products :

Thank you TechCrunch for consolidating this ❤️

iPhone X the 1000$ futuristic device looks amazing. The new screen upgrade, The new design and FaceId motivate me enough to buy one but dont you think its too much gestures?

Apple iPhone X is for sure a confusing phone and I feel its only for power users. Its true that it takes time to build habits when something change but few changes are drastic.

The iPhone design till 8plus is sleek and its clear what gesture do what. You swipe from top you will get your notification. You swipe from bottom to up you will get your control center. you swipe in between you get Search. It was all simple and straight forward.

iPhone 10 : Swipe from down to exit an app. Drag a bit slower and halt you get quick lookup of what Apps are open. Something new but adjustable.

Swipe from up. What will happen now? Swipe from left to get notification and swipe from right to get control center! Seriously?

What if my device is off. I tap the screen the phone wakes up. I swipe up from down to unlock the device then why I tapped in the first place?

I know its a small thing but it is confusing. I find X basic features to be confusing. The control centre is there so that you can quickly Toggle between wifi, bluetooth or just change brightness of your phone. First you have to learn that you have to do a swipe down from right and then again take your thumb back up. If you remember why Apple sticked to small screen for a long time is it was always because of the reachability. Why the tab bar are at the bottom of the screen because it is easier for a user to toggle between tabs from the bottom of the phone as we hold the device such that Thumb is more comfortable doing tasks which are at the bottom of the screen.

Still I accept the changes. The home button is no more so obviously they have to do some changes to the OS and okay fine I will like every other user will adapt to it.

But Apple please tell me : Why you launched iPhone 8?

First of all I am glad that iPhone 8 looks exactly similar to iPhone 7 because it looks pretty. We dont always need a new design and I agree.

iPhone X and iPhone 8 similarities :

  • Same processor: A11 Bionic
  • Same primary 12-megapixel camera
  • Same 7-megapixel selfie camera
  • Same video recording capabilities: 4K at 60, 30, and 24FPS. 1080p slo-mo at 240FPS
  • Wireless charging
  • “The hardest glass ever in a smartphone, front and back.”
  • IP67 water and dust resistance
  • Same maximum screen brightness
  • 3D Touch
  • Fast charging
  • 64GB or 256GB storage options

iPhone X cost 999$ and iPhone 8 cost 699$ and at the same time iPhone 7 costs 649$

Apple devices are already premium devices and are we creating a new segment like gold Device(iPhone 8) and Platinum device(iPhone X) ?

iPhone 8 does not have a Face Id? Why? When the cameras are same then why it lacks the Face Id? You mentioned Apple Face Id is more secure then why not add it to iPhone 8.. whats the point of A11 bionic chip then?

AR apps works on iPhone 7 which have a A10 chip and as per the AR kit the app will run same on iPhone 7, 8 and X. iPhone 7 is already pretty fast so why should I bother for iPhone 8? is it just the camera I upgrade too? which also lacks portrait mode and the new Portrait Lighting feature!!

is Wireless charging , Glass at the back, a small screen size (.1 inch) increase and with a 10g weight addition will make you buy an iPhone 8 over iPhone 7?

In all the hype of iPhone X the futuristic phone, Apple got confused with iPhone 8. if you want your consumers to buy iPhone X which have ton of new features and has a great design then why iPhone 8 or is it a formality that “oh yeah we got new devices for everyone”

I love Apple because they always have solid reasons for every decision they make most of the time. I can’t relate to why iPhone 8 launched when iPhone X is there! is it just the profit that matters to Apple currently?

Dear Apple I am confused but I love you and my love will stay. I look forward to how new things come up and how well it goes but if someone ask me to upgrade from 7 to 8 its a BIG BIG BIG No!

From 7 to X : if you are rich hardly matters you can buy it. You want to show off please buy it. You are a powerful user who is going to use lots of AR apps please buy it. You are a techie or a Apple fan. Go for it.

Only reason I find to buy iPhone 8 : You are a developer who wants to build AR apps and you dont have a 7 go for 8 or you can get an upgrade for a device for just 50$ 😜

These are my views about the new devices. According to me iPhone X saved Apple event! Apple Watch series 3 is more exciting than iPhone 8 😜

Do share your views and hit a clap if my views match with yours 👏🏻 😋

--

--

Aviral Agarwal

I am A”Viral” - WWDC17 Student Scholar, a Tech Enthusiast,A beginner in entrepreneurship, innovator and a prototyper.