Meet the team at Video Lab West

Exploring the future of visual storytelling

McClatchy New Ventures Lab
McClatchy New Ventures Lab
7 min readMar 30, 2018

--

If you follow us on social media, you’ve probably noticed that we’re hiring! (A 3D artist, a full stack developer and AR Storytellers in Residence.) What you might not know is that we’ve already put together an all-star team led by Meghan Sims, McClatchy’s director of Strategic Video Initiatives. Learn more about each of us below.

Julian Rojas, Meghan Sims, Jayson Chesler, Theresa Poulson, Ben Connors and Connie Hyberg pose for a photo in Sacramento with a picture of Andrew Polino (back row, center), who is based in D.C. (Photo by Eric Brandner, Creative Lab at McClatchy)

Jayson Chesler, Experience Producer

The basic bio: I operate cameras and sensors, and generally keep things moving forward on content being produced in the field or in the lab. The sub-100 temperatures of Sacramento have been a nice change of pace — I came here from Phoenix, where I launched a VR production company and taught immersive media at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism. I’ve got a stereoscopic VR documentary about immigration coming out this year through Google’s Jump Start fellowship, so I can re-visit the desert whenever I’m editing.

You won’t find this on LinkedIn: I’m a big fan of punk music and competitive gaming. You might see me at a midtown Sac venue, or a suburban NorCal fighting game locale. If I’m tired at work, I might have seen a cool show the night before — or I might have just stayed up too late watching Korean professional Starcraft in my bedroom.

How my parents describe my job: Like this, apparently:

Not bad for a couple of baby boomers.

Ben Connors, Lead Strategist

The basic bio: I lead our team of awesome and interdisciplinary technologists, producers, developers and more. We supply the Storytellers in Residence with cutting edge tools, techniques and training. We help out on special projects. And we scale some of the most relevant workflows back to the 30 newsrooms that make up McClatchy. I’ve done some other stuff I’m proud of, too. I helped get AJ+ off the ground and AJStream before that. I’ve been shooting 360° stills since 2005 and 360° video since 2015.

You won’t find this on LinkedIn: I’ve had gigs with a famous fake newswoman, a famous felt frog and a famous foam shark (not me).

Most embarrassing VR moment: The first 3D model I ever captured was a scan of my head. I used it as a splash page for my (now mostly broken) Wordpress blog around 2014. It was a very DIY solution. (Do it yourself as in: I didn’t even have a friend around to hold the camera, nor did I have an array of several cameras. Instead, I clamped a GoPro to the ceiling fan in my kitchen. Watch for the change in my expression as I realize the camera is slipping due to centrifugal motion, and I don’t know how to turn off the spinning camera of death. #3DSpinningSelfieOfDooom

Jayson Chesler, Ben Connors and Connie Hyberg

Connie Hyberg, Operations Manager

The basic bio: I handle day-to-day operations for Video Lab West. In addition to developing systems to keep things organized and making sure that our coffee vendor gets paid on time, I keep our team equipped with the right tools and software to explore new technologies for telling incredible stories.

You won’t find this on LinkedIn: I’m a recent transplant to Sacramento from the D.C. area and having a great time learning my way around. Some of my favorite things so far are biking along the Sacramento River, finding new historical sites to explore (I grew up watching a lot of Westerns, so all the local gold rush history is a real treat!) and going out to pub trivia with my wife.

How I explain my job to my family: I buy people new tech toys and make a lot of spreadsheets. Sometimes I ride a giant shopping cart in virtual reality, and other times I’m in the real world making sure damaged equipment is sent out for repairs.

Andrew Polino, Video Technologist

The basic bio: In grad school, I was called a “Super I.A.” which was basically a mix of assistant teacher and tech expert. I still produced and edited news stories and VR projects like my classmates, but I also trained myself on all the latest cameras, hardware and software, and I helped teach my peers how to use them for their own storytelling needs. And that’s all basically what I now do for McClatchy and Video Lab West: help produce and edit innovative new stories, learn new tools and tricks of the trade, and help the talented folks around me do the same!

You won’t find this on LinkedIn: I’m hammier than a Denver omelet. I spend most of my free time doing musical theater, opera and stage comedy. I also obsess over music and movies, so I’m prone to geeking out and nerd-debates.

Most embarrassing VR moment: On my first ever Unity-based VR group project in grad school, I once tried to kick a lab chair out of the way while setting up a workspace for the Vive. Ended up with a broken big toe. That chair was heavier than it looked.

Andrew Polino, Theresa Poulson and Julian Rojas

Theresa Poulson, Program Director

The basic bio: I direct our Storytellers in Residence program, which means I get to support talented, creative people who are inventing new ways to tell stories. Before Sacramento, I developed expertise in audience and community engagement while teaching at Arizona State University. I fell in love with video storytelling covering politics for National Journal and The Washington Post, and I cut my teeth in journalism working alongside lifelong friends at Rutgers University’s The Daily Targum.

You won’t find this on LinkedIn: I’ve been passionate about media as long as I can remember. But my other passion is art. When I’m not at work or taking day trips with my husband, I’m trying to dust off my art-school skills. Right now, I’m dabbling in the original 3D art, sculpture.

Most embarrassing VR moment: After a couple hours at VR World in New York City, I attempted Richie’s Plank Experience, which I had saved for last. I don’t know if it was VR-induced vertigo or my intermittent fear of heights, but I couldn’t bring myself to walk down the plank. They call that full immersion, right?

Julian Rojas, Technologist

The basic bio: I’ve been working with VR/AR content for just over five years now — creating immersive media in as many forms as I’ve been able to get my hands on. From mobile AR apps to PC VR games to 360 video of all sorts, I’ve done it all! So I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to lend my expertise to Video Lab West, helping to expand this burgeoning medium in as many ways as I can.

You won’t find this on LinkedIn: I love games! Not just VR or video games, board games too. Tabletop role-playing games are some of my favorites, but I can never wrangle my friends’ schedules together for a game night, so, I spend way too much time watching other people play D&D on the internet.

Most embarrassing VR moment: When I was finished checking out my friend’s Vive development kit, I tried to put down the motion controllers on a countertop that only existed in VR. Ended up throwing his brand new Vive controllers on the floor.

Meghan Sims, Director, Strategic Video Initiatives

The basic bio: I oversee McClatchy’s digital video product and operations, and I run the joint here at Video Lab West. I’ve spent the majority of my career understanding how technology impacts visual storytelling in an effort to elevate our production value and ultimately our digital products. I started my career in broadcast at the Newseum in Washington, D.C., but quickly moved to the digital side where I managed video operations at The Washington Post. As a native Southern Californian, I’m thrilled to be back in my home state leading this important initiative for McClatchy. And I’m equally excited to be working alongside the team you’ve all just read about.

Meghan Sims

You won’t find this on LinkedIn: People are always surprised how short I am when they meet me in person. In fact, I’ve been lying on my driver’s license since I was 16. I’m not 5 feet tall, I’m actually 4-foot-11¾".

How I explain my job to my family: I’ve stopped trying.

--

--

McClatchy New Ventures Lab
McClatchy New Ventures Lab

Where creators come together to advance nonfiction storytelling. Building our team to create new immersive experiences with 360, VR, AR and MR. By @McClatchy