Contributor Interview: Lucas Veuve

ViewFind
4 min readMar 2, 2016

--

In honor of #WorldWildlifeDay this week, we’re sharing some of our favorite animal stories on ViewFind. Photographer Lucas Veuve contributed his story on rats that save lives in Cambodia. We asked him a few questions about his work.

Photo by Lucas Veuve

About Lucas

Where are you from — where do you live now?

I’m from Lausanne in Switzerland and now currently based in Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

How did you get started with photography and what drew you to photojournalism?

Photography has always been a passion of mine. My grandmother was a successful documentary filmmaker and she really inspired me to get out and start shooting. I can see her influence in my work as I’m passionate about documenting the life of people and communities and raise awareness of issues affecting them.

What did you study in college, if you went?

I studied Social Sciences and have a Masters in Children’s Rights.

Do you have interests/talents in areas other than photography?

I like watching documentaries and going to photo/art exhibitions. I often hang out at art and cultural centres that showcases international and local artists.

I’m also a keen foodie and I love traveling to new places.

About the story

Tell us about the story, how you found it, the challenges with shooting it.

I heard about Apopo a few years ago when I was working in Tanzania and they first started their demining projects there.

When I read that they were coming to Cambodia, I immediately contacted them and a week later, I was on a plane to Siem Reap to visit their training centre.

The biggest challenge was to get a sharp image of the rats themselves — They are constantly moving and they move fast!

Photo by Lucas Veuve

Why were you interested in pursuing this story?

This is such a unique approach to tackle a huge devastating problem in Cambodia — it affects a large innocent population in rural areas who already have had a tough history of being blanketed with UXOs. Also, there is a negative perception of rats but Apopo demonstrate their intelligence — there are more accurate than lab tests in detecting tuberculosis for example. They’re incredible animals. This is a fine example of solving a problem sustainably in a developing country which is heavily reliant on expensive ressources.

How long have you spent working on it?

This is an ongoing story so I have plans to visit the rats again soon to continue their journey in Cambodia.

What has been one challenging or interesting aspect of shooting it?

One of the most interesting aspect has been to get to know the different rats. Each rat has a different names such as Mary, Beatrice, Leyla, etc. and they all have their own personality. Some are energetic, while others are relaxed.

How has this story impacted your life?

I see rats very differently now. They are incredibly clever and are changing lives in a way I could never imagine.

Have there been new developments with your story since these images were made?

This story has been featured in magazines in Cambodia. When I first took the photos, the rats and the staff were still in training and getting used to each other. They are have almost completed their training and will soon be working on demining critical areas by the Cambodian-Thai border to begin their work.

Do you have a favorite image or images in this body of work and why?

My favorite image is the one of the staff with his rat on a leash with the Cambodian flag in the background.

Photo by Lucas Veuve

The relationship between the trainer and the rat is critical as they must communicate effectively during pressured working conditions. I also find it funny how a rat is on a leash when we normally associated it with having domesticated dogs on a leash.

Looking ahead

What advice do you have for aspiring photojournalists?

Working as a freelance photojournalist is demanding and it requires years to build a solid network so patience is key in this field.

When you don’t have assignments to work on, find your own projects so that your downtime is still productive. It’s important to keep working and producing stories that matter to you.

What do you carry in your bag?

It depends on the assignment. I normally carry a Fuji X-T1 camera with a 23mm and 56mm lens.

I always have a Canon 5D Mark III with a 24–70mm, 50mm and 70–200mm lens.

When I’m videoing, I have the Canon C100 Mark II.

What projects are you working on now?

I’m working on a small documentary on female construction workers in Phnom Penh and I’m also working on a long term project on deinstitutionalisation of youths in Cambodia.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

I don’t know how long this will take, but I hope to create a feature documentary that has an impact, one that changes people’s perception of a compelling issue. I may be in Cambodia in five yearsfrom now, I don’t know. I like to keep an open mind on things to come.

ViewFind is the home for thought-provoking stories that delight, engage, illuminate, and surprise.

--

--