CONTACT HIGH: SHOOTING J. COLE’S “4 YOUR EYEZ ONLY”

Photographer Anthony Supreme shares the stories behind the cover

Vikki Tobak
7 min readJan 5, 2018

Atlanta, Fayetteville and Baton Rouge 2016

For photographer Anthony Supreme, imperfection is perfect. As the image maker responsible for the cover art of 4 Your Eyez Only, Supreme understood the importance of very specific visuals for an artist like J. Cole. Supreme and Cole, both North Carolina natives, worked collaboratively to bring that vision to life, discussing ideas of chance, tonality and spontaneity that 35mm, black and white aesthetics could bring to the table. Like the vinyl versus digital debate, both agreed that imperfection, elements of surprise and even dusty, out-of-focus images would add character and depth to Cole’s visual vocabulary. Each image is meant to look slightly haphazard. Supreme joined Cole on a two-week journey through the South, documenting Cole’s writing sessions and spontaneous outings. The whole experience was very in-the-moment. Starting in Raleigh, North Carolina, the team moved through Fayetteville, then down to Atlanta and Baton Rouge. The cover shot, taken during a walk through an ATL neighborhood, shows Cole’s back, leaving the viewer to focus on the young boy looking up at the rapper. Though it was a personal favorite, it wasn’t the image Supreme expected Cole to choose.

The photographer born Anthony Thompson, came to realize his passion for photography partially through loss. Several years ago, his mother passed away following a decade-long illness. Doing what he could to cope, Supreme decided to simplify his life. He enlisted in the military and served six years before relocating to Monroe, North Carolina, to pursue a film and photography career. He sold his car, bought a Camper Van and motivated harder than ever before, driving across America to Los Angeles. While there, Supreme hustled and jumped on film and photography sets wherever he could before catching the attention of director Scott Lazer, who helmed J. Cole’s HBO special. Lazer showed Cole some of Supreme’s work and the rest, as they say, is history.

The Shoot

“Cole really wanted an organic experience and he just let life kind of react to him. Walking into the nature of life. Right from our first conversation, he didn’t want anything too setup. One night we were on the bus at like 4am and he sat next to me and we went through photos and he just loved it. There was no plan to it. I shot the image that was eventually selected for the cover from that kid’s perspective. He didn’t know who Cole was. To him he was just a regular person walking down the street and he didn’t really understand why people were getting so excited to see him. That was so authentic and his face really shows it. Cole has a cool personality and he’s very hands-on. He loves to create and he’s not big-headed; he lets you be a creative person. He’d be like, ‘You’re the photographer, what are your ideas,” but he was also like, “Let’s see what happens,’ so it made for this very creative environment with room for being spontaneous and out-of-the-box.”

The Shot

“I wasn’t with Cole when he picked the cover shot, but I suggested it to him a few weeks prior as that one particular photo of Cole and the boy moved me the most. The way the kid was looking at him, I liked the whole experience and the way the kid wasn’t starstruck by him. In reality, we’re all just human beings. And sometimes the only person who can feel that is a kid. Right before that kid walked up, all these people were taking photos and Snapchatting. The moment he walked up, it was a perfect example of innocence.”

More detail from Supreme’s Instagram:

“I described to Cole that there was just something about this young boy’s eyes. Because that day Cole, Scott and I just randomly stumbled upon this neighborhood in Atlanta while shooting footage for something later to come.

“This Atlanta neighborhood was just going crazy! People were running out of their house to take a photo of Cole and ask him questions but there was something to me about this boy and how he kept looking at Cole as he walked around his neighborhood. I can see in his eyes how much this experience is slowly changing his life forever!

“The young boy’s face just stood out to me to capture. I saw in his eyes he knew nothing about J.Cole, but was somewhat amazed how everyone was reacting to him. The boy even asked Cole several times who he was. But he couldn’t understand what was going on in his world. Cole and I spent hours one night looking for photos for his album but nothing seem to stand out. Then a few days past and I finally found this photo that I felt represented the cover to most to me to pitch to him. Which at the time Cole felt something about this photo as well but wanted to think about it.”

“I few months passed and I got news this week from Scott he made this his album cover, which is kinda amazing to me! Because, everything we created during that time period was pure in the moment, pure connection and all the photos and content to come represents just that. Human connection, the universe, and coincidence. LIFE!”

“I must say I can’t wait for the world to see the rest of my photography I captured through out this process in his album booklet that represents one of the greatest monuments of my life! I must say I was nervous every day & became very motivated and inspired by this wonderful human J.Cole!

“I couldn’t have asked for anything better! I’m from Monroe, North Carolina a small city outside Charlotte, North Carolina and to have my first Official Album Cover with J. Cole that’s a huge representation of North Carolina Is really a Dream come true!

The Camera Nerd Out

Canon A1 and Canon Mark III

The Q+A

Let’s talk further about the kid in the photo. In your Instagram post, you noted the boy’s eyes.

He was just a kid living his life. We are all born with a blank slate and he was just treating Cole like a regular person. Cole is really humble and wanted the visuals to have that feel. Maybe the kid affected him the same way he affected me because Cole eventually gravitated to that shot for the cover.

You speak a lot about the beauty of imperfection. How would you say your upbringing and experiences influenced your visual approach?

I’m amazed by the vintage trend and just trying to connect with the past along with the present, so I think there’s something special about the imperfections of an old image. Its imperfections give it this authenticity. We live in a world where everyone’s trying to be perfect, a society where we try to perfect everything. Sometimes it’s good to have imagery or anything that resembles imperfection. The imperfection gives it that character. With some of the images I capture, it’s not perfect but it makes you feel some type of way. I’m just now dipping into photography deeper. Imperfection gives things individuality. Flaws give characteristics. the world we live in is imperfect.

How would you define your photographic style?

I love the 35mm look and feel. I love black and white, which is kind of cool that Cole picked the same aesthetic. Real in-the-moment shooting. Cole liked the fact that it was so spontaneous but as a photographer that can sometimes be difficult to embrace because shoots can take a lot of planning and foresight. But I really enjoyed the whole process.

Album covers seem to hold a special place for you. Why is that and how did this project figure in?

I enjoy record stores and looking at album covers. The visuals are amazing and it really inspires me to see them. Plus some of the back stories are wild. I was looking at this old Millie Jackson album a few weeks ago and it just made an impression.

You’ve been experimenting with infrared photography lately and showing the results on your Instagram. How do approach inspiration and referenced as you develop as a photographer?
I’m still learning about different styles and photographers. One photographer that caught my eye is Richard Mosse who shot in Eastern Congo with infrared. His work is amazing and I am always looking to be inspired for what’s next.

Follow Anthony Supreme on Instagram and Facebook.

The Contact High Project, conceived by Vikki Tobak will culminate into a book and exhibition. Check out the Contact High website, Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter for more info.

--

--