You’re Free to Explore, So Go Wander

VEON Careers
5 min readDec 19, 2016

Meet Tatiana, a marketing manager at Beeline Russia. In the first interview, we heard her insights on capturing the millennial market. In this interview, we get to hear inspiring advice on how to make the most of work and life.

During the day, Tatiana is a marketing manager at Beeline Russia, where she’s always trying to figure out exciting ways to interact with her customers. Outside of work, she’s an explorer, always looking for a fresh experience.

That’s why Tatiana often goes to Arzamas, a learning community in Moscow. There, she can do things like learn about history at the sites where it happened, practice emoji poetry, and paint her masterpiece.

Emoji Poetry is the best way to learn Shakespeare and Kipling, Keats and Yeats, Lord Byron and Lord Tennyson, Raleigh and Wordsworth, and many more. The app allows you to explore the masterpieces of world poetry with the help of cutting edge technology. The goal of the Emoji Poetry player is to fill blanks in poems.

“Community learning meetups are a great way to study new things and meet new people,” Tatiana says. “And after the lessons, we can go out and have fun.”

For Tatiana, to live is to discover. In this interview, we hear more about her wise approach to life and work.

What did you do before Beeline?

When I was at university, I worked as a campus brand ambassador for an energy drink company. It was exciting to work on brand promotion at the ground level. After school, I worked in analytics, then as an event manager for a athletic gear brand, which taught me a lot about campaign strategies.

My career path to telecom hasn’t been a standard one. But I’ve just been open to new experiences. And I’ve learned a lot along the way that I use here now.

Why did you come to Beeline?

Meet Tatiana

When the opportunity came, I just had to take it. Beeline is a big company with innovative products. I like what Beeline is doing, which, as a marketer, is important. I want to be marketing something I stand by and feel is valuable. I also felt like Beeline fit me and would give me the chance to grow.

What creative things are you doing right now in marketing?

On Instagram, we’re inviting our customers and followers to create content and use our hashtag. Also, we’ve been trying to create viral videos. For that, we’ve been drawing inspiration from past viral videos. We’re really open to trying new things here at Beeline, which is super fun.

What’s your favorite book? What music do you like?

Great questions! I love to read because it keeps the mind active and engaged. I especially like anything by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. My favorite book is probably The Demons (by Dostoyevsky).

I like all types of music. Have a listen here:

One of my favorites… Music video for Interpol’s song ‘Untitled’, directed by Tom McPhee and Steve Parsons for a college project.

What about films? Do you have a place you like to go in Moscow?

Oh, yes! The Zvezda Cinema is a wonderful place to watch a movie. It’s small but charming, and you can have coffee or tea during the show. The building has a mix of modernity and history, which makes it feel like you’ve entered another place and time. It’s a great way to get away from the busy Moscow streets and immerse yourself in a good film.

What is the most interesting place in Moscow?

If you are visiting, the Kremlin, for its history and architecture, is incredible. The Kremlin Armoury, which is one of Russia’s oldest museums, has all sorts of historical artifacts. Pashkov House, a stunning neo-classical mansion, is worth seeing as well.

19th-century postcard of Pashkov House overlooking the Moscow Kremlin. Formerly the Rumyantsev Museum, now the Russian State Library.

But it’s tough to say just one place. I’m always discovering new gems in the city. My answer next week could be different from today, because there’s just so much to do. I guess my advice would be to wander. Moscow surprises and delights at every turn, so be ready.

Do you have any other hobbies?

I like to learn languages. I’ve started learning French and am taking classes every Saturday. I think French is beautiful. I am also learning Polish, which is similar to Russian. For me, learning languages is an enlightening experience, because it opens you up to new cultures and worlds.

Can you describe your job in three emojis?

Well actually four. And not emojis but Messenger stickers if you don’t mind.

Awesomeness, resilience and fun!

What advice would you give Beeline candidates?

Be ready to learn with others and collaborate. Show you can get tasks done. Also, be open for something new, and have lots of energy. Don’t be shy. Reach out to others and be proactive.

What advice would you give your childhood self?

The world is open. Do everything that you’ve dreamed about. There are no limits. Don’t be afraid to discover, experiment, and test.

Now, that’s some cool advice on how to go about life and work. As Tatiana says, there are no boundaries to what you can do and accomplish. Stay open to discovering and learning new things. And you’ll be amazed by just how awesome the road ahead of you is.

Heart me maybe?

--

--