Good Character Religion

Vincent Apunike
4 min readOct 16, 2021

--

Religion is one of the biggest human institution on earth. It is sacrosanct, making it special. Religion is very broad something people with narrower perspectives refuse to consider most times. It is a collective effort because when two or three are gathered… However, the personal affiliation becomes the core that drives the character and beliefs. The biggest thing about religion is belief. Due to how huge and involved religion is, confusion comes in at times. For some, it starts and ends with their places of worship. For others, it is about the pastors and other religious. For many, it is a means of connection — a tunnel to God. I have big attachment to the religious life although I admit it is different from the spiritual. From time to time I engage in conversations about beliefs with different people. The diversity of understandings are wide I find it so fascinating. Mind you, many people operate from the core beliefs attached to their creator of which religion is large and center. My very first view of religion is that in itself it is good. There are many reasons I believe so. First of all, the establishment, the various denominations, preach the practice of virtues. I cannot remember turning up on Sunday only to hear advice and tips on perpetrating evil in the society. Hard to knock a strong guide like this. But then, I wouldn’t say I believe everything coming out of the preacher’s mouth, they are humans too.

Another reason religion makes sense to me is how it brings people together. Most places of worship possess this blissful sanctuary. In essence, it is one place that usually doesn’t discriminate. Of course, a bit politiking here and there but I believe all that are needed too. It is an aspect of the human spectrum that easily categorizes. You’re either this or that or probably don’t believe in anything — a classification. Usually people grow up practicing the religion of their parents. Sometimes some people defect to another or find something that suits them better. This creates lots of scrutiny and judgement. I have seen it happen lots of times. Personally, I keep an open mind. When I discussed dogma of relativity, I mentioned an accommodation I reserve for other people’s beliefs because who really knows? Who really knows is the type of statement that makes for pleasant arguments surrounding this topic. People vehemently defend their positions when it comes to religion. I have seen the danger such extremities can bring. It ain’t pretty. However, indulging in intelligent conversations helps us understand and accept each other better.

I believe in God. I believe his supreme majesty is universal. And just like plenty out there, I am practicing with the faith I was born with. However, my curious mind means I will still explore. I don’t believe one particular religion is the perfect ticket to eternal paradise. Nope. I don’t even need any doctrine to believe in this. That whole eternity issue is a different topic. There are so many religious beliefs out there with their ways which still point to virtues. Spread across different belief systems, you will find all kinds of people. In every religion there are good people and bad people. Tall and short. Fat and thin. Male and female. Miss me with that holier than thou trope. How much I want to read more texts and good books across different umbrellas even if it’s to understand humanity better. Aye, how about defunct and lost beliefs? Believe me, who really knows? Another primary understanding is that there is freedom of religion. Do whatever makes you better. Wherever that improves you with good deeds and empathy, whatever that connects you to that higher power is where you belong. At the end of the day, religion with all the appurtenances includes the meanings we really ascribe to things.

Out here I just write you know. I find this topic interesting. Someone said his own religion is good character. This statement lightened the mood. First of all, I wondered why he said that maybe because I clapsed my hands together when I gave in to our little raised voices back and forth. His conscience pricked him? I don’t know I don’t judge. Judgement without understanding is one thing we believers do a lot. The conviction in his voice was magnetic. My own religion is good character he said. Makes me think of a TV series Good Behavior that took acceptance and redemption to a whole new level. Why was that show canceled? The religion of good character makes sense because no matter how much we frequent our places of worship and verse ourselves in all that dogma, if it doesn’t show in our characters especially with relation to others what is the point? Good character religion trumps the religion of pretense.

--

--