Grace Of God

Vincent Apunike
4 min readSep 30, 2021

--

Some days ago I posted about practicing writing flow in an attempt to explain one of the reasons I use Medium. The truth is I keep my choice of titles open and accommodating. I cannot say I raise particular issues or anchor the themes of my thoughts to any definite direction because I don’t want to be limited. One day, something might develop from these efforts but am not thinking about that right now as much as I am challenging myself to write everyday. Moreover, I find life to be interesting and that one way or the other there should always be something to draw influence from. This is in line with my faith in creativity and belief that creativity moves forward. With that comes a certain pride which follows minds adept at thinking and proferring solutions, probably unnecessary at my level, maybe suitable to the accomplished. With the acquisition of more knowledge and development of more skills, one’s ego tends to pump a bit. While I tend not to restrict the themes I write about, I always find myself avoiding themes about God thinking it’s not in vogue. I am not trying to be a pastor. The audience I am trying to reach are welcome to be openminded about anything even in their beliefs of the existence of God or not and how they choose to express such inclinations. Sometimes I think it makes me look more professional and maybe that’s true but if I choose not to restrict why do I exclude it when it comes to mind? Morals and avoiding topics related to it?

Morality is about principles and ethics. In my elementary school which was in the federal system every Thursday morning was for morals. The bible is read, good behaviors are instructed, and teachings about God drummed into our minds. So although my take on morals hinge on conscience, common sense, and empathy the background definition is still Godly however that can be defined. To understand me better and a bit of honesty I try to put out here I attended a strict religious school for my secondary education after which I moved towards a secular direction where I chose to operate, develop, and apply my skills. Just like everyone our backgrounds help shape who we are and for me there wasn’t any crises in my transition except the pressure to show different sides to different people from different walks of lives. A bit of something I discussed in Finding your Identity because within I have it all put together but outwardly struggle with demands from people to be a certain way. To some, they cannot believe I had a certain unbringing. To others they don’t want me to bring in my morals. As I live my life and develop as a writer the issue of how much of God talk I bring in starts cropping up. I am not a religious neither do I have that in my radar but I recognize the role of such institutions in the larger human story and interactions. Since my chronicles here are general I don’t see reasons to suppress one or two discussions involving my creator. In fact, my previous efforts: To the Universe, Bless My Efforts and God’s Choicest Blessings have been prayers.

As we round up this month I decided to give praise to God but I struggled with it because maybe it doesn’t look cool or it makes me look weak. I am grateful because I found the strength to do it. While I consistently believe in God, my processes have changed since my formative years. Some aspects of my outlook are affected. I have encountered those who don’t recognize or believe in such diety. I respect their choices and is inspired by their strong beliefs about self and hard work. Hard not to, when they are successful. For me, I find consolation in saying prayers when I can and after doing all I should as a human. I find it humbling to recognize a more powerful and majestic power which inturn connects me to a certain oneness in the human brood.

I look at my life especially this year. Many incidents stand out. Some I have interpreted over time; others I rather not attempt. Some I attribute to ingenuity and compassion of others. Some I still cannot fully grasp especially in cases my fraility as a human were evident but I was still able to make it through. While I also reserve some personal pats on my back for showing strength I didn’t know I posses, I must be lying to myself and doing a disservice to myself if I don’t recognize the Grace of God. It doesn’t hurt to say Thank You God. And I mean it. As I said, prayer provides consolation for me and gratitude is a multiplier of blessings. Within myself I say by God’s grace when am faced with obstacles and then go about it with a vigor needed to bring about its success because there are no limits. God’s Grace. And I believe such power is made manifest in lot of ways.

--

--