Suspending Our Disbelief

Vincent Apunike
4 min readOct 18, 2021

--

If it’s fiction the readers already know to waive their convictions and subdue their inclinations replacing those with the picture the writer paints. Writers are thereby encouraged to be consistent because the audience are allowed to do that at the beginning of the story so as to adjust to the new world, following the intelligible rules. Anything down the line that proves inconsistent or comes out of the blue just to fix a plot hole distracts the experience.
The work of the writer is to submerge the senses of their audience keeping them entralled and not questioning every now and then whether to believe what they encounter within the parameters set initially or even to believe it is probable at all. This is a cardinal rule that I am regurgitating. The inner workings that make a story work. Never noticed when it’s well executed but reeks of bad quality when it doesn’t. Occasionally I seek out writing tips from renowned authors and creative directors in order to keep myself grounded. There is always something to learn. There are newer perspectives that comment what we know already and aids recall through context. While fiction aims to spin, the movement lies on the hands of the writer who is co-creating with the audience who are welcome to bring along their wildest imaginations and emotional attachment.

Suspend your disbelief and choose faith. This is hard to do sometimes because of the immense weight uncertainty carries. This goes for personal and for whatever one might think of another. What we believe in is important. We all believe in something. The force from thence even if subtly or subconsciously patterns our behaviors. Think of it also as the value of selfworth — the expanse our horizon are willing to accommodate. When we see ourselves as possessing immense power to change our lives and do better, that belief radiates and effect our realities. When we see obstacles as stepping stones, they become just that. However, when we allow all challenges to become a permanent roadblock then we are superimposing an adamant disbelief, giving it power it shouldn’t have. We can apply the anology I depicted in the before paragraph in real life by simply deciding to suspend our disbeliefs and worries. I do that not because it is easy and straightforward but because I don’t know what other productive alternative to use. What I mean in essense is recognizing what needs to be done and going on about it. Putting in the efforts required and facing the challenges head on, thereby practically suspending the disbeliefs of possibilities. What’s the point wallowing in despair anyway or not giving whatever it is our best? I don’t see any.

Suspending a disbelief we have about another person extrapolates this discourse. Personally, I am busy working on myself most times that I don’t usually entertain or try to negate the ability of another or wish them bad on the things that they cherish especially when that doesn’t oppose what I do. While I find that as some sort of strength and discipline it turns out to be snobbish for some. When I recognize that tendency I remind myself to not have my head up my behind all the time. But in all honesty, I realize it is so much a waste of time and a drain of energy to involve myself with some other person’s affair when I am not contributing positively, supporting, or cheering. When I don’t bring such to the table I withdraw. When I find others in my own issues without the said dispositions or the like, I wonder. That I cannot do something doesn’t mean another cannot. That you don’t want to do something or even understand doesn’t mean I am not allowed to attempt and prosper. Giving each other such space breeds respect that promotes productive individuality, the type that promises the acceptance and harness of all our diverse qualities. We shall prove’em wrong always. You shall. I will.

The scope after suspending a disbelief entails representation with hard work and practicality because nature abhors vacuum. This also involves the size of the sieves we use to filter the information out there, all the stimuli we are susceptible to. Never ignoring our own guts. Listening to advice from others and the ones from our own heart. Considering other beliefs and then choosing what makes sense to us. Being mindful of using statements like I cannot or pointing such to another because surprises happen.

--

--