Vinny’s Top 10 Books of 2018 — #7

Vinny Kurban
3 min readDec 21, 2018

--

This is my first published ranking series of books. To provide some context, I’ve read about 50 books in 2018, most of which were memoir-based or self-development in nature. I record the start and finish date of each book, as well as take copious notes with page markers for referencing. Every month, I post about 3–5 books that I am reading. Feel free to follow along and share your feedback. It’s always welcome.

Mastery by George Leonard

Categories: Goals, Leadership, Aikido, Psychology

Year Published: 1992

This might be one of my most recommended books for today’s society. In a world so accustomed to instant gratification, this book is a refreshing take on patience. Unfortunately, it is that very reason that most people won’t pick up this book. The truth is, anything fulfilling or worthwhile ALWAYS takes time. It’s usually in the form of brief spurts of progress followed by long periods on a plateau. Here are some of my notes verbatim from the book:

The plateau can be a form of purgatory. It triggers disowned emotions. It flushes out hidden motivations. (p. 8)

You have to be willing to spend most of your time on a plateau, to keep practicing even when you seem to be getting nowhere. (p. 15)

A lot of people go for things only because a teacher told them they should, or their parents. People who get into something for the money, fame, or the medal can’t be effective. When you discover your own desire, you’re not going to wait for other people to find solutions to your problems. You’re going to find your own. (p. 45)

At the heart of it, mastery is practice. Mastery is staying on the path. (p. 80)

What we frown at as foolish in our friends, or ourselves, we’re likely to smile at as merely eccentric in a world-renowned genius, never stopping to think that the freedom to be foolish might well be one of the key’s to the genius’s success. p. 175)

Again, I can’t recommend this book enough for today’s world. The mentality of having to have it ‘now’ is short term and a loser’s game. Put in real time, real effort, real work, and over time, watch the fruits of your labor grow.

P.S. I loved this book so much I gave it to a friend to read. That’s why I don’t have a singular pic of the book like I do with the others in my Top 10.

--

--

Vinny Kurban

Entrepreneur. Startups. Chicago. Passion. Confidence. Resilience. Vision.