How I Transformed My Body and Healed My Eyesight

Vishen Lakhiani
6 min readOct 4, 2018

--

Ever since I shared the pic of my 2-year health transformation on social media, I’ve been blown away by the number of requests asking to learn more about how I did it… And how you can do the same.

First, here’s the pic again…

You see, in May of 2016, I was going through an immense amount stress in my life.

Between writing my first book, The Code of the Extraordinary Mind and running a company of 200+ employees, my health and my fitness had taken a back seat.

And boy, was I paying a hefty price for my neglect.

I was heavier and more out-of-shape than I had ever been.

Worst part, I noticed my eyesight was deteriorating (hence why I’m wearing glasses).

So, today, I want to share 3 KEY methodologies I used that proved the most effective that helped me trim my waistline, gain significant muscle and strength gains, and how I managed to improve my eyesight without lasik surgery. (This last one was the most requested idea our community wanted me to share.)

#1 Diet — How To Break Free From Sugar Addiction

Have a look at the image below:

Many of you have likely heard about how I radically transformed my body through Eric Edmeades’ WildFit program (see the first two images on the left).

9 weeks into the program, I went from 22% to 15% body fat, and I was slimmer at 40 than I was at 26.

I felt like I was practically melting — In a good way. ;-)

But here’s what makes Eric’s approach to health and body transformation so powerful.

Unlike mainstream “diet programs” out there, WildFit does NOT focus on calorie restriction or having you struggle through strict meal plans that require tons of willpower.

Instead, Eric uses powerful behavioural psychology to effortlessly shift your eating habits so you consciously WANT to eat healthier.

And you’ll naturally curb your cravings for sugary junk food.

Rather than explain the details behind this methodology, I invite you to try it out for yourself.

We’ve created an amazing free 7-day Quest with Eric on 7 Days To Breaking Up With Sugar.

The beauty of this short quest is in its simplicity.

You only need to set aside 10–12 minutes a day for each lesson.

Each day, Eric will help expose the lies behind sugar, and give you simple tasks that build each day so you can rapidly rewire your brain for healthier eating habits.

Try the 7 Days to Breaking Up with Sugar Quest here >>>

#2 Exercise — The Science of Rapid Muscle Growth

There’s a prevailing myth that if you want to build muscle and get fit, you need to sacrifice a ton of time on hour-long sessions in the gym.

I used to believe this as well until I started digging into the science.

The truth is, with the right methodology, you can rapidly gain muscle, vastly improve your fitness, extend your longevity, and prevent injury, just by spending 30 minutes a week working out.

That’s it. Just 30 minutes a week.

For the last few months, we’ve been experimenting on a new fitness protocol we’ve developed called 10X and the results have been astounding.

Here are my initial results:

My chest increased from 98cm to 103.5cm (38.5 inches to 40 inches).

And my strength increased by 50%.

But I was even more impressed when I got my 75-year-old dad to try this out as well.

Yes, anyone, no matter your age or current fitness level, will see amazing results from this.

If you’d like to learn more about how you can apply the 10X protocol in your life, get ripped, and save a TON of time, watch this presentation we did at A-Fest Longevity a few months ago.

In this 35-minute video, I’m joined by our R&D expert of Mindvalley’s Human Advancement Lab (HAL for short) as we dive deeper into the science of rapid muscle growth.

#3 Eyesight — Experiments on Vision Correction

Most people don’t know this about me but when I was a kid, I had terrible eyesight.

And I mean terrible.

I was “legally blind” and wore thick bottle cap glasses just to get by — which did no favors for my self-esteem as an awkward teenager.

When I was an adult, I decided to opt for lasik surgery to correct my eyesight and for many years, I enjoyed clear vision without the need for glasses.

That changed in 2016 during that one period of my life when I was experiencing constant and intense stress.

My body was falling apart, and I realized my eyesight was worsening as well.

Problem was, since I had already performed lasik surgery in the past, a second round of surgery was no longer a viable option I could return to.

So, I was back to wearing glasses…

But glasses were a major inconvenience to me.

And I had heard from my friend Dave Asprey that he had successfully hacked his eyesight to overcome the need for glasses. It intrigued me. Dave is the famous biohacker behind Bulletproof Coffee. Working with an eye coach he trained with intense eye exercises for 1 hour every week for 12 weeks, and by the end of that time period he no longer needed glasses.

I decided to give it a go. I signed up for online courses on vision correction. I interviewed and then hired a vision coach.

I was shocked at how fast I was able to train my brain to correct my short sightedness. In 2 weeks of training for 15 minutes a day, I went from 20/40 to 20/25.

Not perfect — but it meant I did not need glasses for day to day activities. I sometimes went for weeks without ever putting them on. My glasses usage went from 40% of the time to 4% of the time.

Since I know so many of you wanted to learn more, below is an in-depth I wrote that may give you some insights on how you too can naturally heal your eyesight.

>>> My Experiments On Vision Correction: How To Heal Your Eyesight

I hope you find these health transformation tips helpful, and I’d love to hear if you’ve tried any of these approaches before, or are planning to in the future.

Just know that I’m always experimenting with new approaches to optimize my health, and I share regular updates on my instagram.

So if you’d like to learn more, or just share your thoughts, follow me here: instagram.com/vishen

--

--

Vishen Lakhiani

Entrepreneur and Activist. Founder of Mindvalley, Author of “The Code of the Extraordinary Mind”.