#17First — A year of Doing 17+ things for the very First Time in my Life

Akilnathan Logeswaran
6 min readDec 31, 2017

My New Year’s Resolution last year was to committ to do at least 17 things for the very first time in my life this year.

Today I’m looking back to a year in which the little things counted even more than they did before. What it did with me was that I appreciated more what I was doing, as well as reminding myself every once in a while to do something new.

Contrary to popular belief I didn’t need a plan on what to do or when to do it. I literally just climbed through the open windows when I saw them and felt the urge to do so.

In the following I want to share some selected stories of these precious moments with you to elaborate on how easy it really can be to spot them and just do it:

#1) The 40 seconds Hug

Have you ever hugged someone for 40 seconds or even longer? Usually a hug takes on average a couple of seconds. According to some studies long hugs reduce the harmful, physical effects of stress, including its impact on your blood pressure and heart rate. Some say that the long hugs release the so-called “bonding hormone”. Well, I’ve tried it! And I absolutely loved it. I went through a couple of stages during the hug: First the normal hug stage, then the ‘this-is-kinda-awkward’ stage, followed by ‘gosh-this-is-really-long’, eventually resulting in ‘wow-these-bodies-are-meant-to-hug’ stage.

PRO-TIP: Do it with someone you always wanted to hug, but haven’t hugged too often yet. And of course that feeling must be mutual before you start.

#2) The Quidditch Match

Little did I know that Quidditch existed in the Muggle world as well before my magical sister introduced me to it. Sounds weird? Well only at first sight. Watch a whole match or even a tournament and you will beginn to appreciate the best muggle teams competing with each other.

SPOILER: The Seekers are one of the most hilarious thing you’ve ever seen!

#3) Excuse me, can I ask… nope!

Everybody knows these girls and guys on the street who just want to ask you some questions for a poll. Since this year I have even more respect for them. Because we turned the tables. For a local Climate Change Studay we undertook with the Global Shapers Munich we had to randomly ask people about Climate Change. It proofed to be right that the first step and the first rejection is the hardest. Everything that follows is just pure routine. It’s worth. Go forth & take the streets.

#4) The Public Stage

I’ve spoken to hundreds of people in a room before, in class rooms, meeting rooms, even auditoriums, but never ever publicly on the streets. But the time had come. At Pulse of Europe everyone gets a chance to speak at a rally. Hence I spoke. Passionately. To more than 1,000+ enthusiastic Europeans on the streets in Munich and even more live following on facebook. What a feeling. I can only encourage you to speak up when the opportunity arises.

PRO-TIP: You’re always ready. Don’t wait too long, just do it.

#5) Unite behind the flag

I never really had to urge to buy a flag. But this year we had to fight back to push back the negative rhethoric. So I heard the calling, thus I went to buy the second most beautiful flag in the world (the first one being the one of the United Nations): The European Union flag. United in diversity.

PRO-TIP: Don’t celebrate the differences, but what you have in common.

#6) Visit a brothel

No, it’s not what you think it is. Yes, I did indeed go into a brothel for the first time in my life this year: to talk to the people working their on the front line, but also behind the scenes. It was an organized trip. And it was heartbreaking, but also very insightful to learn about how it was run, what security measures are implemented and how they operate.

#7) Run, Forrest, Run (30+ days in a row)

As part of my #ProjectXXX (to be the fittest I’ve ever been when I turn 30 years old) I discovered running. And I had to start with creating a microhabit. So I ran, and ran. For 34 days in a row. Every day at least 1.3 km. Again, the first step was the hardest.

PRO-TIP: Set the goal so low, that you can reach it even on Day 1 and can squeeze it into even the busiest day.

#8) Keep running (100+ km in one month)

And I kept running. Turned out I could run more than 100 km in a month. Yes, for some this might seem not much, for me this meant a difference like day and night. When I started running I could not even continue for 3 km without a break.

PRO-TIP: Keep changing your goals, e.g. distance, speed, distance/time, route, etc.

#9) Breaking barriers running (15 km non-stop)!

Eventually I even broke my own record of first running more than 10 km, then more than 12 km and eventually 15 km. And yes, I do not intend to stop here. But it’s the largest distance I’ve ever run without stopping so far.

#10) And then there are Burpees..

I do not know who invented them, but that coach must have hated the world. Burpees are an insane exercise, but I started doing them. Not too often I have to admit, but let’s see, maybe they make their way back into 2k18.

#11) The ‘Kuschelbank’

Not sure if it’s an international concept, but German cinemas tend to have them. A ‘Kuschelbank’ is unromantically speaking just two cinema chairs without the armrest in the middle. Romantically speaking it’s the best spot to get in a cinema to hold your dearest while watching a movie. First time to actually ever be on that spot, and definitely worth it.

#12) The Muggle Firebolt: ‘Hoverboard 8000’

Yes and then there are those childish moments, when you just go for what you really like to do and do not care about anyone’s opinion. These are often the most stupid or the most awesome decisions. It turned out to be the latter. I bought myself a hoverboard and I so enjoy driving it, it’s priceless.

PRO-TIP: When you want to drive it, don’t think, just do it.

#13) Back to the roots: Be that child again..

..and do something like celebrating your birthday in a Trampoline Park with all your mid-20 to mid-30 friends, because WHY NOT?!

PRO-TIP: An hour of trampoline fun is ten times more fun, exhausting & rewarding than your normal workout.

#14) Give & Speak Up for Others

I also wrote my very first Recommendation Letter for somebody applying for a scholarship program for the first time. What a pleasant change to not ask for one, but be finally able to give one.

PRO-TIP: If you feel somebody deserves something, do tell her/him, push them & last but not least recommend them.

#15) The Button

Also do learn something so simple it’s embarrassing that you actually do not know it already: in my case — how to sew on a button onto your coat.

PRO-TIP: Ask your mum HOW to do it, NOT TO do it. It’ll make her double happy.

#16) Alone does not mean lonely

Try something on your own like hiking a whole mountain alone. Yes, you can use that #MeTime and think about the world and what moves you within. It can be tough, but you also get to enjoy it. Definitely was worth it when I climbed the Preikestolen in Norway this year.

#17) The Lunch with a Stranger

You know this. Somebody sitting in a Restaurant or the Cafeteria alone and it is obvious that they are just eating by themselves. How about you jump over your shadow (German figurative speech), walk over and ask them, if s/he would like to have lunch with you? I always wanted to do this, but somehow never dared to. So eventually a lady walked up to me while I was reading my book during lunch. It was a pleasant experience, I am looking forward to #PayItForward.

That’s it. 17 examples of what I did for the very first time in my life in 2017. And it’s been a great journey and once you start you cannot stop it, so I actually counted 38 things that I did for the very first time.

All this makes me confident to start #18First in the New Year to embark on 18 new things I’ve never done before in my entire life. What do you think? Are you with me?

--

--

Akilnathan Logeswaran

Forbes 30 Under 30 | Capital 40 Under 40 | Digital Ambassador @ GIZ Ghana | Advisory Council at WEF Global Shapers | Ex UNOPS + UNIDO + Deloitte Digital + CEMS