‘The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty’ Is So Much More Than Just A Movie!

Shikhil Vyas
3 min readDec 23, 2019

--

The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty
The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty | flickr.com

“Beautiful things don’t ask for attention.”

This quote from the movie ‘The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty’ seems relevant for its own self. This movie does not ask for attention. It does not scream to be recommended. You won’t find anyone talking about it as a cult classic, nor would you find it listed in the ‘Must Watch Movie’ listicles. Heck, even its Wikipedia page uses the words ‘mixed reception’ and ‘moderate box office success’.

But my dear friend, there are people out there who consider this movie as some sort of spiritual experience. I’m sure there are. I can’t be the only one!

Walter Mitty is all of us and that is why his story speaks to us. He ain’t the most charming or the most successful. He is just a regular bloke who daydreams as his life passes him by.

It’s the story of a man who one day decides to take a plunge into the unknown. It’s not like he’s not scared. It’s not that he doesn’t doubt himself. But he chooses to do it anyway.

His path is long, his journey arduous. He faces disappointments, heartbreaks, and failures. Incidentally, he’s not chasing some wild dream or some lifelong desire. He’s just trying to do his job, maybe a bit too religiously.

As he goes through his journey, we all join him in. Movies are capable of transporting us to a different world. But this one takes it up a notch above. In his adventures, we start seeing ourselves. We feel the rush when he runs towards the helicopter or away from the volcano. We feel exhilarated during his Himalayan adventure or during his skateboarding through the scenic Iceland.

Throughout the movie, we get invested in Walter Mitty’s chase for the lost image and anxiously wait for the movie to reveal it in the end. But instead, we find ourselves spellbound by a subtle but powerful realization that LIFE IS HERE and LIFE IS NOW.

YOU ARE ALIVE IN THIS VERY MOMENT. SO WHY NOT STAY?

STAY IN IT FOR A WHILE.
BE RIGHT HERE.

This was my feeble attempt at giving a tribute to this movie that is obviously too close to my heart. I get overwhelmed whenever I watch this movie. I come to see it whenever I’m feeling low. It fills me with hope every time I watch its clips or listen to any of the soundtracks from this movie (By the way, do check out the soundtracks from this movie. They are magical, each one of them).

Did I make any sense? Do any of you also feel the same about this movie or maybe any other movie? Drop your comments. I would love to know your views.

In the end, I leave you with the crux of the movie:

Stop dreaming. Start living.

You can find me on Instagram or check out my website LetsTactics Football.

--

--

Shikhil Vyas

Writer & storyteller; sharing uplifting life lessons to set you up for the day || I try writing words that comfort people 🌸 Simpler Sundays 👉🏻 bit.ly/3ESP275