Rectification Does Scrum hold up to scrutiny? — The purpose of the Scrum events

Willem-Jan Ageling
1 min readMar 7, 2023

--

Last Sunday I published the following article:

After a debate between Joshua Wiechman, Gunther Verheyen, and me I want to rectify my most notable concern. I stated I found the following statement too harsh: “Failure to operate any events as prescribed results in lost opportunities to inspect and adapt.”

However, over the years, the Scrum events have been stripped from all “how to do” instructions. The only things left are why each event exists, who participates, what should be the input, and what should be the outcome. Considering this, I agree with Scrum Guide 2020 the statement that “Failure to operate any events as prescribed results in lost opportunities to inspect and adapt.” Because deviating from the event basics is deviating from the core premise of Scrum.

--

--

Willem-Jan Ageling

https://ageling.substack.com Writer, editor, founder of Serious Scrum. I love writing about maximizing value.