Israel Kamakawiwo’ole AKA Izzy did not have to die. His life inspired me to save 19 lives so far.

Antonia Namnath
3 min readAug 20, 2015

--

As my husband and I lisened to one of the worlds most beautiful songs “Some where over the rainbow & What a wondderful world” by Izzy a much beloved hawaian singer, my husband was moved to speak to me. Izzy died of morbid obesity at a very young age. His weight casued mutiple organ failure and weight loss surgery could have saved his life. My husband asked me to consider this inportant medical treatment to save me, his beloved wife. With Izzy’s sweet voice still in my ears I knew I needed that help. I thank god everyday for my husbands sweet words and Izzys angelic voice. Izzy did not die in vane.

People like me who have circled the sun living their life inside a morbidly obese body know many hard truths. They understand the bias and inequities that exist. They have been at the end of stares, and gawks and direct cruelty, most since childhood.

Often victims of physical, sexual or mental abuse, morbidly obese people long to be accepted, respected and loved like all other human beings. Biases in society, against obesity are strong; The Bias extends to the medical treatment of obesity. People seeking Weight Loss Surgery routinely hide this fact from friends and loved ones. The media often treat the doctors who practice bariatric surgery with less respect than other specialties. Weight Loss Surgery patients with the success their treatment brings, gain confidence and acceptability in society. Many times they will begin to disclose their treatments to inquiring minds. The new found confidence is the thinnest patina of courage, like the most fragile eggshell it can be destroyed by people under the powerful spell of weight bias.

“you took the easy way out”, “You cheated”, “you could have lost the weight on your own”, “You’re are lazy”…

Not all weight loss surgery patients are destroyed in the face of bias! Many join together.

Thousand have joined together to support our unique community and we are paying it forward.

Weight loss surgery patients working together are the living testament, proof weight loss surgery works! We are advocates for the medical treatment of obesity. We are talking in unison in the face of Bias and saying publicly and proudly Weight Loss Surgery Saved Our Lives! Together we formed the Weight Loss Surgery Foundation of America a 501 (c )3 public charity.

My Name is Antonia Namnath and I am the founder of the WLSFA. In 2009 I became a self pay weight loss surgery patient. My life changed in every way a life can be changed. I regained my health, my dignity and ambition to make a difference in this world. I knew I could not enjoy my happy new fate knowing how many people where without hope, trapped in their morbidly obese bodies. In April of 2010 I founded the WLSFA to pay it forward and help people less fortunate than I escape the cruel fate that morbid obesity brings.

The WLSFA is the only charity funding grants for weight loss and reconstructive plastic surgery after massive weight loss. In 2011 we funded 5 surgery grants and we plan to double that number each year.

How can the largest disease process affecting the US and the world at large not have a major charity to support it? How can we as patients and doctors turn the other way when we know how many morbidly obese people are being denied access to the medical treatment they need? How do we change the perception that weight loss surgery is illegitimate, for the money, a fad or even worse? The answer is CHARITY ! Become involved in the WLSFA. Become a contributing Surgeon in the OR and with your charitable dollars! How could any charity be closer to your heart?

Our grant recipients participate in the process. They must raise part of the funds they request. Work as Ambassadors for the WLSFA and Pay it forward with contributions of time and money as they regain their Health.

Together we can save lives one grant at a time!

Antonia Namnath CEO Weight Loss Surgery Foundation of America

About the WLSFA.ORG

--

--

Antonia Namnath

Founder of the Weight Loss Surgery Foundation of America