My writing journey.

Day something of 100: I forgot my Medium WHY

Day 67 of 100

Wambui Njuguna
3 min readSep 24, 2022

I forgot what my relationship with Medium entails, what it means to me, and why I write here.

And for that reason, it has been easy for me to not prioritize writing here, to procrastinate to no end.

Medium gave birth to the creator I am today.

It was on Medium that I wrote my first article, dared to share my thoughts, and launched my writing career. I was scared before then, of criticism and feedback. I didn’t know how to handle any feedback I got from something I wrote or said. So, I comfortably sat in a huge house called Avoidance.

I didn’t interact much with people. I wanted a smooth life, no rough patches, and I sucked at interacting with people so I kept to myself. I had a Twitter account; all I did was consume. Until Medium.

Writing my first article led to half a dozen more, and the urge to create consistently created the 100-day writing challenge.

Through writing consistently, I found my voice, and with that, the meaning of my writing. After that, I went all in. I wanted to accomplish everything I could as a digital writer.

I wanted to share my newfound meaning with other people and make a living out of what I loved.

Following my two motivations, I created an online community through a weekly newsletter, sharing my musings with people who can relate to my whole being.

I have identified as an introvert for so long, at one point I couldn’t tell where introversion ended and my being started. I was introversion.

I knew there were others like me and I wanted to share that with them.

Next came another online community born as a result of my transformation before and after writing online.

BreakFree is for people who like I was, are not satisfied with what they have, are not aware they can have more or don’t know how to achieve more.

My need to pay bills led me to activities that aligned with that goal. Content creation on my socials and for pay. I learned a lot on the way. Gained new skills too; illustrations, marketing, and networking. All of which I’m still growing.

With every creation, I wanted to do better. And with every frustration, I create some more. I get a natural high.

One that’s creating a pattern. But I let myself forget where it all started. I forgot how I got to achieve a more fulfilling life and neglecting the place where it all started felt like neglecting a part of me.

My reason for writing changes with every platform while remaining similar throughout. At first, Medium was just the place where I started, but eventually, it became the place I ran to after a long day’s work.

I loved sitting outside in the evening with a hot beverage to create something.

A laptop and a cup neatly placed on a table with a chair behind
Photo by Georgia de Lotz on Unsplash

Increasing the quality of my content creation on other platforms and a recent change in environment may have had a part to play in forgetting what Medium is for me.

But I felt the effect. I missed my haven. I missed creating when I was fatigued, writing these articles was my way of unwinding and I was robbing myself of that.

Today, I remembered my Medium WHY and it makes everything feels like it's in place. Thank you, you who are a part of this community. You make it feel like home.

Subscribe now to my weekly newsletter, IntrovertWorld, on Substack. Read this week’s edition: How to use the 3 types of meditation to create a haven within yourself in a highly stimulating environment.

Join BreakFree on YouTube to uncover the limiting beliefs in your life and break free from them!

Connect with me on LinkedIn and Twitter.

--

--

Wambui Njuguna

Compiling my first book, How to develop a healthy relationship with your environment, in my newsletter. Get access: https://wambui.carrd.co/