My writing journey

It’s Halftime! Day 50 of 100

Clarity!

Wambui Njuguna
4 min readSep 7, 2022

On day 50 of 100, my achievement is clarity.

The hand of a woman holdng a pen over a piece of paper
Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

Medium has been an exploration journey for the start of my writing career.

76 days ago, when I published my first article on Medium, I didn’t know what kind of writer I was or who my target audience was.

It didn’t stop me from publishing an article on introvert relationships [now deleted] that kick-started my writing journey on Medium. I chose one thing I knew about and wrote about it.

Since then, I have written on more diverse topics about myself, things I knew, and things I was curious about.

For so long, I did not have a niche. I wrote what came to mind, and through experimenting, I found one niche I can write about as a freelance writer.

Niching down has given me a target audience, therefore, making it easier to come up with an effective content strategy and reach out to potential clients.

It is fun to write about everything that comes to mind. But while doing that, I was neglecting my priority.

My priority as a writer is to achieve financial freedom.

I lost the balance between creating content and selling my services. Gaining clarity on who I am as a writer has helped me advance my skills and made my strategies more efficient.

What started as a writing challenge 50 days ago, where I was supposed to write and publish an article every day, turned into a discovery period where I kept close track of my activities and experiences.

It may seem like something a writer must do, but it was after I started the 100-day writing challenge that I gave more thought to concepts like consistency which are pillars of online writing.

Along the way, I shared discoveries about myself and writing as I uncovered them in various articles.

Evaluating my success in the second quarter of my building block towards financial freedom through online writing:

  • I haven't published an article for 10 days since my last evaluation, and a total of 17 days since I started the challenge.
  • At the end of the first quarter [first 25 days], my biggest takeaway was strategy over motivation.
  • At the end of the second quarter [previous, and second 25 days], I gained more clarity as a freelance writer.
  • During the second quarter, I learned how to remain consistent as a writer and how to keep producing content without taking away the enthusiasm of it.
  • During this period, I also got more involved in other habits that enable me to achieve my goals as a writer, such as having a s strong social media presence.
  • I came up with an effective content strategy that helped me remain consistent on social media.
  • I stopped being selfish and launched an online community aimed at redefining introversion for introverts and people who want to understand the introverts in their life better.
  • I stopped wasting time on irrelevant job boards and platforms which were slowing me down.

While some of these activities have no direct relation to the writing challenge, I consider the challenge to have influenced them.

Before I started the challenge, I was living the life of a legacy writer and only wrote when motivation struck. Committing to this challenge changed my perception of online writing and helped me become a better writer.

Looking forward to the next 50 days!

I appreciate everyone who has supported me, and challenge anyone who feels a writing challenge would be the right strategy for them to quit making excuses.

It doesn’t have to be a 100-day writing challenge. Pick a number as low as 5 and keep going from there.

Subscribe to my IntrovertWorld newsletter on Substack to be part of the community and receive free emails directly in your inbox. You can also join the community on Twitter.

Connect with me on LinkedIn.

PS: I have niched down to a B2B health and wellness writer.

Thanks to Lipika, I have arranged all my articles in categorized lists so it can be easier for you to access similar stories. Click the kicker to access a list.

Happy Writing!

--

--

Wambui Njuguna

Compiling my first book, How to develop a healthy relationship with your environment, in my newsletter. Get access: https://wambui.carrd.co/