iPhone 15 Pro Action Button

The Action Button: Taking Back Your iPhone

Forget USB-C. The Action Button is the most significant hardware change

Warner Crocker
6 min readOct 3, 2023

Lights! Camera!! Action!!! Well, you won’t be directing a film crew with it, but you can use the Action Button on Apple’s new iPhone 15 Pro and Pro Max models to turn on your lights or launch your camera. As I said in my first impressions post about the iPhone 15 Pro it can be so much more.

In fact, for those who already use Apple’s Shortcuts or those willing to check them out, this is a way to take a bigger step towards personalizing your iPhone than we’ve been able to in the past. In my opinion it’s the most signficant, and potentially most powerful user addressable hardware change Apple has made to an iPhone in quite some time.

Unlike The Dynamic Island, last year’s big shiny new feature, users don’t have to wait for developers to decide to implement the feature. To be honest I’m disappointed in the lack of apps I use that couldn’t find ways to take advantage of the Dynamic Island. But the Action Button, combined with Shortcuts, puts personalization at your fingertips.

When it was first introduced and once I first set up the iPhone 15 Pro my initial reaction was that this would be the latest fidget-spinning, widget-like new feature from Apple. Designed to tantalize, destined not to take hold, it would capture a lot of attention and not really mean much over time. I was wrong.

Again, if you know Shortcuts or are willing to learn a bit about them, you can set up the Action Button to run a Shortcut or quickly access a series of them. The beauty of using the Action Button with Shortcuts is that you can perform actions without unlocking your phone, or while you’re in any app. It sort of feels like taking your iPhone back and using it in a whole new way.

The Action Button is located just above the two Volume Buttons. It replaces the Mute switch that has been there since the first iPhone. Don’t worry, you can still Mute your iPhone with the Action Button or from the Control Panel. As a matter of fact the Action Button comes with the Mute/Unmute function enabled by default. Press it once after setup and you’ll Mute your iPhone. To use the Button you need to hold the Action Button for a second or two. Otherwise you’ll get a reminder on screen telling you to hold it a bit longer.

The location of the Action Button is a bit of a problem for me though. I have yet to develop a natural reach for it with one hand and wish Apple had positioned it below the Volume Buttons.

I take my cues on using Shortcuts with the Action Button from some folks who know more about Shortcuts than I do. I’m no wizard at creating Shortucts, but I know where to go when I need to discover and explore them. Stephen Robles, Federicco Viticci are indeed wizards at this. John Gruber also got me excited about these possibilites. Robles has produced a couple of videos here and here that show you how you can take advantage of using the Action Button to access Shortcuts. He shows you how to create menus and single use Shortcuts. You can find links to all of the Shortcuts he’s created in the description that accompanies his videos.

Gruber created what he calls the Action Jackson Button and posted screenshots of his Shortcuts on Threads. Jake Shaw managed to put those into a blog post here, so you can download them if you want to as opposed to creating them from screen shots.

Viticci has created what he calls a MultiButton method (using Shortcuts) to use the Action Button beyond its current single button press functionality. Apple designed the Action Button to call one action. You can configure it in Settings to bring up Silence your iPhone, Turn on a Focus Mode, Use the Magnifier, Activate the Camera, Turn on the Flashlight, Record a Voice Memo, Launch Accessibility Settings or Run a Shortcut. Viticci lets you tap twice to use the Action Button for two distinct actions. Users have already been calling for Apple to give us mulitple touch possibilities on the Action Button, but this might do in a pinch. (Make sure you also check out the MacStories archive of Shortcuts if you haven’t already.)

Do note that you’ll need to install the free Actions app on your device. Actions doesn’t have an interface but it adds and enables some essential Actions to make better use of Shortcuts than Apple provides out of the box.

You set up your Action Button to use Shortcuts by scrolling through the actions Apple provides and selecting Shortcut. At this point if you want to use one Shortcut you select it and you’re set to go.

Currently I’m doubling up on Menu options. Pressing the Action Button as I’ve configured it brings me into a graphical menu of icons (image on the right below) that allows me to Mute/Unmute the phone, Turn on the Flashlight, Launch the Camera, or launch my podcast app of choice, Overcast. I’m a Type II diabetic so the Contour and Dexcom G7 are apps I use to help manage that condition. Then there’s the red icon labled Magic Menu. Note that for this graphical menu option you can only add seven Shortcuts and you’ll always get an Open App button as the eighth entry. That will take you to the Shortcuts app. But why not create a Shortcut that launches another menu?

But let’s first get to the graphical menu. Create a folder in the Shortcuts app. Name it with the name of your choice. I chose ActionButton. Then create or move the seven Shortcuts you want to access in that folder. Go to Settings and select Action Button, choose the option presented, and look for the Show Folder option. If I remember correctly it will be on the left if you haven’t set anything up like this previoulsy. Pick the name of the Shortcut Folder you chose and the Action Button should bring it up.

What I call the Magic Menu (you can call it anything you want) is a Shortcut I created that opens up another menu that allows me to quickly access some apps and functions I use frequently. I followed the how to from Mr. Robles as linked above to create the menu you see below. You’ll need to configure each menu item separately.

This menu includes shortcuts to access Drafts and Notes which I use for work. Text on Screen captures any text on the screen after first taking a screenshot. Current Show launches into my Notes folder for the current play I’m directing. Cheatsheet is where I store some codes and other things I need to remember. Screen Recording does just what it says. Remind Me Faster lets me enter Reminders into that App more quickly than using the app.

Again, and most importantly this functionality lets you set up things they way that works for you. I’ve seen similar menus that call up Music, Maps, Reminders, certain contacts and many more.

For different projects going forward I’m sure I may change things around, but that’s easy enough to do either by adding to the existing choices or adding more. I’m sure others will find new ways to take advantage of the Action Button as well. Exciting times.

As I said above I am not a Shortcuts wizard. I’ve created some single use Shortcuts but nothing on the level of folks like Viticci or Stephen Robles. Another great resource is Matthew Cassinelli. I highly recommend that if you want to dive deeper into this for the first time or just for great ways to take advantage of Shortcuts that you follow their adventures.

--

--

Warner Crocker

Gadfly. Flying through life as a gadget geek and theatre artist...commenting along the way. Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/deck/@WarnerCrocker