The one budget you keep moving up: how to keep investing in staff professional development in schools

We Are In Beta
We Are In Beta
Published in
34 min readJun 13, 2019

By Niall Alcock — Founder, We Are In Beta

Whenever I talk to people about the Harris Federation, the first topic of conversation is always its reputation. Harris academies are often accused of being exam factories.

In his interview on the We Are In Beta Podcast, Dr. Chris Tomlinson, the Regional Director of Harris Secondary (and soon to be CEO of Coop Academies Trust) doesn’t shy away from this.

“Because the schools that have been very successful, that I’ve worked with, people say they are exam factories. That’s totally false.”

“You have to be happy as a student to be successful at school. It’s about giving them high challenge and high support” he said.

“Okay. You’re really challenging the students to get there. You’re really challenging the staff to get there. At the same time, you’re giving them lots of support to get there.” He explained.

This idea of high challenge and high support comes up more than once in the interview. A related idea, that comes up time and time again, and is pivotal to his school improvement ideas, is the importance of investing in staff.

But in the current climate, investing in staff development isn’t easy. Resources are scarce.

So, how does he make sure he can do it, and why does he think it’s so important?

Chris Tomlinson (Regional Director of Harris Secondary Academies and soon to be CEO of Coop Academies Trust) (Image credit: Harris Federation)

On how he’s able to invest in staff development he said: “You know, one of the great things that you learn so much from people like Tim Brighouse, who said, “The only budget you keep moving up is the CPD one”. It’s those principles that you have. It’s that message that you send out. That’s a mantra that I’ve used every year that I’ve been a headteacher. So the CPD budget keeps going up.”

“Even if it’s only £1000. What you’re not doing is reducing it because you have to invest in people. You know, of your budget, 75 to 80%, if it’s a good budget, is of your staff. So how are you going to invest in your people? They are the driving force of your school. That’s how you influence children, which is really important.”

On the reason why he invests in staff development, he sees it as a key lever in securing teacher retention and succession planning.

“What I’ve found, internally, it’s really important you invest in your people. I think that’s crucial. You give them time. You give them support. You give them challenge.”

“I also think you look for internal solutions for succession planning. I think that’s really important. So you’re looking at the next steps. So, who possibly could be the next leader? People need that. They need that motivational stuff. I think they need clarity, They need consistency. They need to feel trusted.”

This is just a snippet of the wisdom Chris shared with me, that has helped him take 5 schools from an unfavorable Ofsted category to outstanding consecutively over 17 years of headship.

The headline and this excerpt don’t do his interview justice. If you’re skeptical of Harris’ approach to education, I urge you to listen to this interview. I suspect it will make you think again. Let me know on Twitter @niallalcock

Listen to his interview in full:

Listen: Spotify | iTunes | Stitcher | TuneIn | Lybsyn | Podbean

Listen to Episode 8 of the We Are In Beta Podcast here

(For the full transcript please head to the bottom of this post)

In his interview, Chris shares his thoughts on:

  • Why his experience of education wasn’t great and what gave him confidence
  • What he believes headteachers should all still do
  • What he says is the key to leading 5 schools from inadequate to outstanding
  • Which groups of students he thinks defines you as a leader
  • Why he disagrees with tabloid newspapers
  • What he says about Ofsted that you don’t hear so often
  • His advice to new leaders about how to approach Ofsted
  • What he believes is the most effective CPD
  • Which external organisations he recommends working with
  • How to get the most out of SEN funding in the long term
  • How he responds to the criticism that Harris academies are exam factories
  • How schools and the government can tackle teacher retention problems
  • Why his weaknesses might be his biggest strength
  • What advice he would give to aspirant headteachers
  • What one question he would ask every headteacher if could
  • How one student helped Chris out when is new accountability structures weren't very popular
  • Why he is optimistic about the future of education

Listen: Spotify | iTunes | Stitcher | TuneIn | Lybsyn | Podbean

Listen to Episode 8 of the We Are In Beta Podcast here

If you want to access this podcast before anyone else along with the links to the organisatons and resources guests mention, every other Sunday, subscribe here

Who are we?

I’ve been working in partnership Teach First, the Young Foundation and Super Being Labs to build a community of teachers and senior leaders who are solving big challenges in their schools.

You can read more about We Are In Beta and how you can get involved here.

To stay up to date with interviews from the community when we release them, sign up here.

Below, I’ve shared a lightly edited full transcript of my conversation with Chris.

Niall Alcock: [00:00:00] Chris welcome to the podcast.

Chris Tomlinson: [00:00:01] Morning Niall.

Niall Alcock: [00:00:02] Before we get into the conversation around policy and practice, I’d like to talk a little about you, if that’s alright.

What was your experience of education?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:00:08] Not great. Brought up on a really difficult, rough council estate. But I had parents that really, really did take a great deal of care and also really believed in education. But I was sent to a school that wasn’t a truly outstanding school in any sort of way. So it was a difficult, school.

I remember walking to school. It would be a good 40–45 minute walk to school. To be honest, being slightly dyslexic as well, school was challenging for me. But I was determined. I worked hard. I was good at Maths. I was good at statistics and being good at one subject, like that, helped me through it really.

Again, having parents that really cared for my education, they made the decision to send me to Farnborough Sixth Form College, which was a fantastic college. I did really well in my A-levels, which was excellent. I went to a good university — Kent University. You know, at that time, I think from my year group, there was only me and my friend, who were the only two out the whole year group, to go to university and that stage.

Niall Alcock: [00:01:07] Wow. So when did you decide to become a teacher?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:01:11] A funny way really. Because I went to university, I had a great time but really my sport took off a bit as well. I was always heavily involved in sport and then I was awarded a double blue for recognition of my boxing and football at Kent University.

Niall Alcock: [00:01:25] I didn’t know that!

Chris Tomlinson: [00:01:28] Interesting. I was really into my sport, which is great, and obviously doing a degree, I loved it. So at university, I grew in confidence massively in life, you know, through football and boxing and what I was studying at the time.

Then, when I left university, I flirted with the idea of becoming a police officer and all sorts of things. And actually, when I left university I went on trial at a football club.

Niall Alcock: [00:01:50] Which one?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:01:52] Aldershot. At that time, I gave football a chance for a year. It was a really incredible experience because I was playing for Aldershot, or training with Aldershot. Then I went out on loan to a couple of non-league clubs and that sort of stuff.

But then I was called back because Aldershot was having financial problems at the time. So in the end, I ended up playing in the first team two or three times, which was great. But just when things were going really well, you know, people were talking about offering a two-year contract and all this sort of stuff. Lots of rumours. But then the club financially wound up and then Aldershot reformed as Aldershot Town as a non-league club.

What I decided to do was become a teacher and play semi-professionally. I was the only player to play the last league match for Aldershot and play the first league match for Aldershot Town. I mean, I wasn’t a very good footballer really. I wasn’t really very good at all but I made enough of the limited talent I had. And yet I became a teacher. So…

Niall Alcock: [00:02:59] What’s your expensive of teaching been like?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:03:01] It’s been incredible. It’s been fantastic. I’ve loved every minute. Working with children, you know, there’s a vibrancy to it. There is an enthusiasm about it. I think deep down, with all that’s going on politically, we’re all a bit down in the dumps.

What’s really nice is that you feel that you can make a real difference to the community, which is important. So, the influence that you can have on an organisation, as a headteacher, is vast. And who knows where that influence stops? So, it’s more important than ever to understand the responsibility of it and to really enjoy it.

Niall Alcock: [00:03:39] You said you didn’t know where it stops. What’s the biggest surprise you’ve come across in finding out where your influence has reached?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:03:46] I think it’s when you see ex-students and they can remember the smallest of things 10 years on, and they can actually remember the influence.

I remember all sorts of things really. I was speaking to a beginning teacher, who’s now a Maths teacher and I taught Maths to. When I saw her, first I said, “How are you getting on?” and she said, “One of the things I can remember about you, Dr. Tomlinson, is when we were walking along to assembly singing Maths songs.”

I wouldn’t remember that but that really stood out for that particular student. So when you have memories like that, when you have ex-students coming back to you and telling you stories like that, you kind of realise that, actually, these are memorable things for a very very long time.

Niall Alcock: [00:04:28] And that it’s worth it.

Chris Tomlinson: [00:04:29] Yeah absolutely, absolutely.

Niall Alcock: [00:04:31] And so have you always wanted to be a headteacher and education leader?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:04:33] No. When I first was teaching, I just loved being in the classroom really and I’m still in the classroom now. I think that the clue is in the word ‘head’ — ‘teacher’, you know, the clue’s there. I love teaching now, I still do. So, I just really wanted to be a teacher and enjoy it.

But then what has started to happen is, with your timetable, you have eight classes say of 25, you know, that’s 200 children. But then when you start to go into leadership, you can start to see that you can influence more. When you become a head of department, you’ve got 10 teachers, who’ve each got 200 children. Etc. etc… It starts to expand, that kind of influence and how you want things. Then of course when you become an assistant principal and so on.

So, I think, in the end, your desire to make schools vibrant, turn students into fantastic global citizens, make it a nice place for staff to work, these sort of features of it, you start to work out, that actually you can start to do this, you can start to develop this with an organistion and have that influence within the community as well.

Chris Tomlinson. Image Credit: Harris Teaching School

Niall Alcock: [00:05:40] Am I right in thinking that you’ve now taken five schools from inadequate to outstanding?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:05:46] Well, I’m very proud of the schools that have been transformed: Chafford Hundred, Greenwich, Battersea, St. John’s Wood, bits and pieces elsewhere. So I’m really, really proud.

I think that one of the things, you know, when you go in [to a school] it has to be an organisational effort. Everybody has to be on board. I say to staff at the start of term, “If we just improve one thing each, the school will fly.”

If you look in here for example, currently at St. John’s Wood, you know 150 -160 staff, and if everybody just improved one thing. You know, if you talk about games of inches and that sort of stuff…

If I could focus in on the achievements of Pupil Premium students — I don’t like the label — Pupil Premium — I don’t like labels in education but working with the most vulnerable students and really giving them hope and aspiration and giving them a real chance in life, where we know social mobility in Britain is challenging for all students, to actually give that [is great].

You know, the pupil premium awards that Chafford won, that I’ve won at Greenwich, at Battersea — the accolades where the really vulnerable students have done well. As a leader, I would say, you’re only as good as the help you give the most vulnerable students and that’s really important.

Niall Alcock: [00:06:56] Has that been a focus at all those schools that you worked in?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:06:58] When you go into an organisation, it’s about raising aspirations. That’s really important for everybody- for staff, for students. That’s incredible.

It’s about sensible accountability, which is really crucial. The accountability cycle: week 1 — data, week 2 — lesson observations, etc. This kind of structure that you give. There’s a real clarity for everybody, a real clarity of expectations but also really, you know, the ethical side of schools — the values, the core values, the vision: “Pace, Purpose, Pride” at Greenwich, “Head, Heart and Heroism” at Battersea, “Determination, Dedication, Destiny” here [at St. John’s wood]. You know, I like that. But you hook things on those messages of what we want to give the students in their life, what we are striving towards, which is crucial.

It’s also allowing the people side of things. I mean, I’m very lucky, despite what some tabloid newspapers say, teachers are wonderful people. People that work with children are wonderful people. The support staff I work with, brilliant staff, I work with brilliant teachers.

There aren’t many out there, that don’t really, really enjoy working with children and want to do the best for their students. If you can give them the framework where they can actually do that, then the organisation will thrive. I’ve been lucky enough to work in lots that have done that.

Niall Alcock: [00:08:12] Behaviour expectations. To what extent is that essential across all the schools?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:08:16] People need to know where they stand. I’m an optimist in life. People want to please and do the right thing.

Niall Alcock: [00:08:22] People that are teachers, students?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:08:23] Yeah teachers and pupils, generally. You know, we all want to do things that make us feel better or do better. I think to have that clarity of expectation and what is expected, making sure that the standards are higher — I was at school, dyslexic, so English lessons were a struggle for me, which means I have empathy. But it doesn’t mean effort can’t be given in return.

We’re trying to build that and build that resilience towards that, which is really important. I think it’s terribly invigorating when you go into a school and you see a lot of students and a lot staff trying their best. It’s really motivating when you really build momentum within a school. And that’s a really positive sign of communities that you don’t often read or hear about.

Niall Alcock: [00:09:03] Thinking practically, what are key strands that go across communicating those expectations of behaviour and upholding them?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:09:08] Well just use every possible avenue. I just think, as a leader, you know, in the old days we used to talk about you being a leader of the community and all that sort of stuff. But obviously, that’s not to take you away from the fact that you’re a leader of a school community, which is really, really important. And you’re using in every possible angle, every possible avenue to be really consistent.

Communication is so, so important. How you communicate to the different stakeholders is crucial and to be seen to be doing that. Working with the parents, working with the governors — that’s really important.

You know, as a headteacher, I don’t know, you would have over 1500 conversations during the course of a week or something. And that consistency that you have, and of course, consistency in your senior leadership team, this consistency from your head of a department, when they can see the rationale behind it, they can see the purpose to it, then you will get that buy-in and that consistency from them, which is crucial.

Niall Alcock: [00:10:00] It’s fascinating stat — 1500 conversations a week.

Chris Tomlinson: [00:10:02] I don’t know. Yes — I think so.

Niall Alcock: [00:10:03] It’s a lot to keep track of.

Chris Tomlinson: [00:10:05] You can imagine that you could go from here to your classroom, for example, and you could talk to 10–12 students, maybe a few teachers… having a chat with yourself of course! So, you know, it is always your party. But that’s what you need to be.

Some head teachers will do it in different ways. That’s the fascinating thing about it. We all do it in different ways. Striving towards those same outcomes. You know, where the children haven’t really had a successful education and at the same time enjoy most of the time.

Niall Alcock: [00:10:34] Let’s talk about Ofsted. Historically, there’s been a big focus on data and accountability and there’s been a bit of a shift towards the curriculum and the substance of education. What are your thoughts on that?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:10:43] Well, you know, I’ve got a great amount of respect for Ofsted. There’s no doubt it’s helped improve standards in education, certainly in my period of 17 years as a headteacher or executive head or whatever. So it has helped push up standards, there’s no doubt about it.

Often, what doesn’t get talked about is the HMI work, in terms of school improvement and that sort of stuff. So, there are elements Ofsted, that really, you know, in terms of regulation, has really pushed that up. What happens is there’s another new framework coming along. I’ve seen a few new frameworks!

Niall Alcock: [00:11:12] How many have you seen?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:11:13] Well it is incredible to think back… and there’s a different focus. For me, with what Ofsted measure, there is a consistent theme. The consistent theme is: How do your students feel about your school? Do they feel they’re being successful? Are they being looked after? Are they safe?

So, I tend to try and concentrate on that consistent theme. Alright, there will be different focuses and different things highlighted in Ofsted. But what you’ve got to think is: Ofsted is a consequence of what you produce. It doesn’t dictate policy to me. It doesn’t dictate how a school should be. I say to any new headteacher out there: you’re in charge, you’re in the line of your school — How do you want your school to develop?

If Ofsted can see that strong vision, that strong core value, the clarity, teachers working hard, staff working hard, they can see that accountability is in place, then Ofsted will recognise that. I think what people forget about Ofsted is that is actually, self-regulation.

So it is another framework but I’m sure the focus for Ofsted won’t change in that, it wants really good schools. It wants some lovely schools, safe schools, positive schools, happy children in schools… most of the time… teenagers aren’t always happy, we know that! Okay. And obviously happiness with success, as well. You know, students gaining success, as well, which is really important.

Niall Alcock: [00:12:30] I’d be fascinated to see from your experience of all the frameworks what they’re if there are things that always run through and if you could pull them out and create the perfect average Framework.

Chris Tomlinson: [00:12:40] There’s a book there: “The Frameworks Over The Years”! There is a book there and how it has changed! But there is that common theme. There are some things that won’t ever change.

I welcome the change in the curriculum. It’s a huge thing. You know, the National Curriculum has gone. It was time. I first started teaching, actually, when the National Curriculum was just introduced. There’ll be some teachers in the profession who’ve always had a National Curriculum and all of a sudden now, despite that sometimes in education we want the answers, we want the off-the-shelf “DfE, can you tell us what to do please”. Sometimes we want that.

I want education really to develop more of its own direction. So, you know, I welcome it. For me what it underlines is the most important thing which is the quality of teaching that’s going on in the classroom, not what we teach.

Niall Alcock: [00:13:25] Well let’s talk about that — continued professional development. What’s the secret to running an effective CPD program in schools and what have you done in the past that’s worked well?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:13:34] One of the secrets of the successes, even if it’s a very large school like St. John’s, where for example, we’ve got 1300 students, you know, Chafford Hundred — 1000, Battersea, you know at one stage we were just 700, but now it’s grown and grown with the success it’s had, Greenwich — the same… You try to individualise education. You can see it on my wall, there’s the picture of all the children that we have here [at Harris St Johns Wood]. So you try to individualise it for every student. How can you make sure that everybody has that belonging in school and they have that individualised curriculum, that individualised advice, that guidance? How can you do that?

That’s what you must do for CPD. I mean, I’m the first one to say I would prefer staff to come down and ask for what CPD they want because they know themselves. Sometimes ideas come through. I do like preparation for the next level. I think it’s key for succession planning. I do like the aspects of leadership. I think that’s key. You know, as for succession planning and for retention in school.

So, I don’t feel we do enough about sharing good practice. Hence what we’re doing this morning sharing ideas and talking about it. I think that’s really important. So, any avenues for that are crucial. Initiatives like Teach First and stuff like that has been brilliant over the years.

Some of the networks that develop from Teach First and other organisations and associations like this, it’s been fabulous. So I think that’s really helped to increase the profile of education, but also help to improve the professional development of staff. I mean if I think back to, you know, the professional development that I’ve seen, one thing that has happened, is it really has improved.

Niall Alcock: [00:15:08] You mentioned a minute ago you hoped that teachers would come to you and say, “Listen this is what I want to do”…

Chris Tomlinson: [00:15:12] Yeah.

Niall Alcock: [00:15:13] …What you think stops them from doing that?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:15:15] I think sometimes you know when you read all the doom and gloom, “Budgets are so bad, etc, etc…” You know, one of the great things that you learn so much from people like Tim Brighouse, who said, “The only budget you keep moving up is the CPD one”. It’s those principles that you have. It’s that message that you send out. That’s a mantra that I’ve used every year that I’ve been a headteacher. So the CPD budget keeps going up.

Tim Brighouse. Image Credit: London Leadership Strategy

Niall Alcock: [00:15:40] Always increases?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:15:41] Even if it’s only £1000. What you’re not doing is reducing it because you have to invest in people. You know, of your budget, 75 to 80%, if it’s a good budget percentage is of your staff. So how are you going to invest in your people? They are the driving force of your school. That’s how you influence children, which is really important.

Niall Alcock: [00:16:01] It’s not always possible to put together programs internally. Sometimes you bring in external organisations. What’s the best piece of CPD you’ve brokered into schools?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:16:11] Personally, I would say, very much so, is when we get external people in to talk about coaching and leadership and getting people to find their own solutions to the problems that they have in terms of the most sustainable and most impact. So, whenever I’ve brought in middle leadership programs and leadership programs from outside to come in, almost like a fresh pair of eyes, that’s when it’s had a real impact on staff.

Niall Alcock: [00:16:37] For people listening in who are wondering what’s the best place to go. Who would recommend them to go and see?

Jill McMillan. Founder of leadership consultancy Jill McMillan Associates. Image Credit: JMA

Chris Tomlinson: [00:16:43] Well, very much so someone like Jill McMillan, Teach First do some wonderful staff on the leadership. Obviously, across Harris, you have the Teaching Schools that offer some wonderful leadership programs. I’m not just talking about the NPQSL and NPQML for middle leaders because obviously their accreditation is for everybody but obviously, it’s who’s delivering that course, which is really important. Staff have really appreciated it and had, I think a real output, by actually changing work and learning habits, which is very difficult to do, you know, changing working and learning habits for the better.

Image Credit: Harris Teaching School Alliance

Niall Alcock: [00:17:15] Part of what I’m doing is to help schools navigate that external environment. What’s the secret to identifying a need going out to the market, comparing organisations, finding out who’s good at what they do? What the secret to navigating that landscape?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:17:27] You know, it comes from experience in knowing where the right place is to shop. I would encourage all principals to build their network. But at the same time, you have to spend time within schools. I don’t mean time out of school.

There’s all sorts of different ways to build a network. I’m not a great one for social media to be honest. I’m not great but I do read it. You know, social media, there is some fantastic stuff on there. You know, I am a thorough reader of everything educational and I like to hear and read the different opinions. I think, in terms of networking, in terms of the different schools you go to, the different people that you meet, I’ve been lucky enough to move from different areas and I think that’s helped to expand my network.

But also to keep the forefront of current affairs within education. I think that’s important. But also organisations that we have nationally, things like Teach First, for example, you know, finding your way that you can be involved in these organisations, without obviously, deflecting the work that you have to do in school, I think is crucial.

A group of students eat together at Jamie’s Farm. Image credit: Jamies Farm

If I just go from Teach First, there are things like Jamie’s Farm that I’ve used, The Brilliant Club, Future Frontiers, that really helps to build your network, if you’re using those organisations and those strategies as well within your school. And The Grub Club, of course.

Niall Alcock: [00:18:38] It’s really encouraging to hear you say you’re allocating that funding to bring in these organisations because having left education myself and learned a lot more about the ecosystem, there are some amazing organisations doing some incredible things and it’s really great to hear you say that.

Aisling Kirwan, Founder of The Grub Club doing a fun cookery workshop. Image Credit: The Grub Club

Going back to your point about ring-fencing CPD, for professional development leaders out there listening, what’s the secret to making sure that you can keep increasing that budget or can at least ring fence that budget to make sure you can invest in staff?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:19:01] There’s no doubt, budgets have been really tough. I mean, I remember back at Chafford Hundred Campus and then when it became Harris Chafford Hundred, you know, I remember the minimum funding guarantee. All schools in Thurrock, and only 8% of secondary schools, were on the minimum funding. I remember that situation at Chafford Hundred. We had no money. It was very very difficult, you know.

So it’s not like a common phenomenon about the budgets. It’s always been tough. I mean, I agree at the moment is probably tougher now than it’s ever been. I think what you have to do, if you’re looking at CPD, you have to look within house. Obviously, you still need external [input].

But it’s about knowing what great value for money you can get. It’s like your household budget really. You actually become very selective. But then also you look in-house for CPD. With every school, staff are talented people. There’s lots of stuff you can do with learning from each other: peer observation, coaching within schools, etc, etc. So lots of stuff you can do.

Niall Alcock: [00:20:01] I think the DfE has released what £350 million pounds over a couple of years for SEND funding.

Chris Tomlinson: [00:20:05] Yep.

Niall Alcock: [00:20:06] Is that enough?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:20:07] It’s like the NHS. It’s never enough. I welcome the investment in SEN funding because, obviously, investment in children that maybe find school a little bit more challenging on a daily basis. We’ve got to remember we have. That’s something I’ve really learned over the years. So I welcome the money. It’s really good. I think what you have to do is look for more sustainable solutions if we’re being really pragmatic about it.

The best option is if, you’re training with your teachers to make sure that differentiation, make sure they are accommodating for students needs, if they really know their students, if they really, really know the students, you know because a child is dyslexic it’s very different to a second child who’s dyslexic, for example. So, if you really know your children, how to work with them as an individual, and if you really give them the chance to do that, then you have a sustainable solution. You know where a teacher actually is producing different materials or adjusting their approach, differentiating questions, whatever it is that is a very sustainable solution.

So what you have to do is invest in your staff to make SEN provision better in the classroom on a daily basis. A really good teaching assistant is priceless. And to be honest, increasing funding will help us do that. But at the same time, long term wise, it’s working within the classroom, the provision for SEN students is crucial within that. And also, of course, you’re building their confidence and their self-esteem.

Talk about mental health at the moment. You could say, because the schools that have been very successful, that I’ve worked with, people say they are exam factories. That’s totally false.

You have to be happy as a student to be successful at school. It’s about giving them high challenge, high support. Okay. You’re really challenging the students to get there. You’re really challenging the staff to get there. At the same time you’re giving them lots of support to get there. It’s very motivational and you build lots of momentum. That’s a keyword in schools — momentum.

So the SEN funding is welcome. We need more. We could be so proactive in our communities, if we were really funding our education, which is crucial. At the same time, trust in headteachers that they use it effectively to make sure that it really does directly impact the student.

Niall Alcock: [00:22:20] Final question about funding. When I was doing some research for this series of interviews, one question that head teachers I spoke to that was always on their lips was ‘how are you overcoming their budgetary challenges? What are the strategies they’re using to generate some income, to reduce costs? What have you found successful over the years?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:22:35] Well, I mean the obvious one is lettings. I think that’s an area that has really improved. I mean, obviously, you’re raising more money yourself.

Niall Alcock: [00:22:42] Do you manage that in-house — lettings?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:22:43] Yeah we do. We work with organisations. I’ve been lucky enough to work with a federation where you get economies of scale, you know, in terms of your photocopying, in terms of the ICT all that sort of stuff, really importantly.

Schools Plus. Image Credit: Schools Plus

What has happened perhaps, with ICT, in education we’re behind. That does reflect a lack of investment. I think looking for value for money, when you have to go out there, if you’ve got the expertise in there, that can make a real difference to you. At the same time, get as much as you possibly can from your staff is crucial. I think you need to look after people. I think that financially teachers aren’t motivated by money but we all need it. I think need to look after people.

Niall Alcock: [00:23:23] You mentioned it earlier when you’re talking about CPD — teacher retention.

Chris Tomlinson: [00:23:27] Yeah huge.

Niall Alcock: [00:23:27] Some people are saying that there are as many people leaving as there are joining. What does the government need to do? What do schools need to? What have you found successful?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:23:33] Answering your last question first. What I’ve found, internally, it’s really important you invest in your people. I think that’s crucial. You give them time. You give them support. You give them challenge.

I also think you look for internal solutions for succession planning. I think that’s really important. So you’re looking at the next steps. So, who possibly could be the next leader? People need that. They need that motivational stuff. I think they need clarity, They need consistency. They need to feel trusted.

If somebody said to me, “You can name 60 or 70 teachers out of all the teachers you’ve worked with, who could come to a school with you”, I couldn’t name 60 or 70. It would be far more than that. So the profession’s in a great place in that respect.

Nationally, in terms of budget, it needs more investment. I do believe that. I think there have been lessons learned previously. I think there has been money put into education, which perhaps has not been used as well as it should be. But I think the profession has got to have that as well.

I think after this period, where it has been very difficult, I think we can come out of this, learn a lot from it and now I think it’s ready. Austerity — I think it’s time now. I would like to see investment in education.

Niall Alcock: [00:24:44] To what extent has your background in accountancy, economics, Maths helped you to do what you do?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:24:52] It does give you a brain for figures; how you manage your budget. You know, you manage your budget in your head. So, budget works subconsciously. So you’re making decisions on a daily basis. But you’ve got to have your budget in your head, where you’ve got the scope. I think that’s really important that you subconsciously you keep it there.

I touch base with my business manager weekly. I have the figures there in my head. So, if people ask the questions and you know the budget implications and all that sort of stuff, you can make those decisions. It helps with that decision-making process. Of course, long term wise, in terms of pupil numbers and all that sort of stuff, you’ve got to have a hold of it. You do err on the side of being prudent. I feel that’s important.

Niall Alcock: [00:25:25] So I’ve met a few headteachers recently and something that’s come out of our conversations is often: skills that they didn’t know that they were going to need when they became a headteacher. So things like media training, PR training, marketing training, construction training, looking around new buildings.

What have you learned or what are the things that are missing from CPD in terms of headteacher preparation?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:25:44] Yeah. I don’t think there’s any sort of CPD that could prepare you fully for the experience apart from, you know, doing the job.

I mean for me, the areas regarding construction, if you’re looking at new buildings and also maintaining your current building, if you’re looking at heating systems and photocopying and, you know, that sort of stuff, that is quite complex, to be honest.

I think the key to leadership is that you will have to lead people that probably know more about that sort of stuff than you do. But at the end of the day, you’ve got your budget in your head, you’ve got your priorities, you’ve got your clear vision. So you know exactly, in the end, how to manage that person to do that.

Of course, what you need is really good people. I would like to think one of my strengths is that I know my weaknesses. I get people in that can accommodate, or whose strengths are my weaknesses if you understand what I mean, because it’s all about a balance within the team, to be a bit clichéed. But that’s what I think is.

Niall Alcock: [00:26:38] Speaking about learning from other people. I’ve been asking every headteacher that I have met recently: If you could ask one question to every headteacher in the country what would it be and why?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:26:48] The question I would want to ask headteachers, you know, is, “Are you really resilient and are you really ready to do it?”

I think, to be honest, we’re always in a rush. People are in a rush to become a head or an executive head or whatever. What’s really important is, and I often say, it’s not just about being a headteacher, it’s about being a really good one.

Because if you’re not.. if you’re not ready for it, and if you’ve not laid your foundations in place, with the experience that you’ve got and ‘experience’ is achievement not years…

Don’t rush it. Don’t rush it because, actually, when you feel you are and when you feel you’re comfortable, you need that confidence, you need that resilience and that’s really important.

Niall Alcock: [00:27:31] How might they know when they’re ready?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:27:32] You know, you look back over the time and you think what you’ve achieved in your career. Like I said, when I talk about ‘achievement’ I’m talking about the situations that you’ve had to deal with and the challenges that you’ve had to face, and how you progress, and how you dealt with those. I think you have to have an honest self-reflection and look at yourself.

It’s quite interesting, you see. Myself, I have to do that for the school. So when do you move on from a school to the next one? And it’s kind of like, in my head, you know, I kind of have this what I call this little ‘sustainability test’. So what does the school look like on a Friday afternoon on a learning walk, you know, for example? How good is the SLT?

Niall Alcock: [00:28:10] Is this when you’re in the building on not in the building?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:28:12] Both. And of course, what you’re doing is that self-reflection, self-evaluation of what you’re doing and of your own ability. You know, when you feel you’re ready etc. and you’re confident to deal with the most difficult situations well, you know, it’s a fantastic job. Really rewarding.

But when you’re sinking in any job it’s tough. And I think another thing is, what people don’t spend enough time doing is choosing the right school for them.

Niall Alcock: [00:28:35] How should they go about doing that?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:28:36] Well, you know, you do your research and find out. I mean, I must admit, when the different schools that I’ve worked at, you go visit the community, you go and speak to the shopkeepers, you go to speak to the people, you know, you go and do your research, you go and have a look around and you think, “Right, is this me? Can I imagine myself being here?” You know, that sort of stuff.

Just like, you know, buying a house in that respect. But different because obviously, it’s that people assessment. Of course, if it’s ‘yes’, you know… It’s quite hard. What you can do, you can go into a school, and if the children aren’t getting a great deal then you can think, “If I could go in, I could give them a better deal than that. I could really, really turn it around.”

But it’s a little bit more than that. Is the governorship, behind the scenes, etc, etc, set up for you? Is it right for you as a leader? Will you be given the freedom and the flexibility to get on with the job yourself? All those sorts of things, those kind of elements come into it when you’re choosing a school to work in as a headteacher.

Niall Alcock: [00:29:28] For you, how often is that answer a ‘no’ versus a ‘yes’.

Chris Tomlinson: [00:29:31] I think, as you get older, you know yourself better and you know what schools you want to work in. I couldn’t work — and it’s no discredit, I think grammar schools have a place in the education system — I couldn’t work in a grammar school. I couldn’t work in a private school.

It wouldn’t be as enjoyable as what I’m doing now working in the school in St. John’s Wood, where the children are brilliant. The fit wouldn’t be right. In all schools, I talk glowingly about the children because I’ve really enjoyed working there. I’ve really enjoyed my time there. That’s because the fit was right. It’s just choosing the right school at the right time.

Niall Alcock: [00:30:02] Speaking about glowing, if you look back on your career so far, what one story will always make you laugh?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:30:06] Well, I’ve got so many of those stories — just so, so many. I love that. That’s really important. You know with Nicky Graham, with George [McMillan], and with Dave [Moody] and Liam [McGillicuddy] here [Harris St Johns wood].

George McMillan, Principal of Harris Academy Greenwich. Image Credit: Harris Teaching School

Niall Alcock: [00:30:16] These are all headteachers you work with?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:30:18] Yeah. Yeah. Headteachers I work with. One of the things I say is, “What we have to do… we have to be able to laugh.” I mean, I remember my third week of headship, I’d just become a head at Chafford Hundred. Chafford Hundred’s going through a very difficult time. There was no accountability. So, I’m going around setting up accountability in the school; I’m not very popular.

Nicky Graham, Executive Principal of Harris Academy Chafford Hundred. Image Credit: Harris Teaching School

A student turns around and says “Sir, this book might help you. I bought this book for you. I bought you a present to help you as you’re the new headteacher”. He bought me a book: “How to Win Friends and Influence People”. It’s just fantastic! You know, I mean that is priceless. Of course, we had a good laugh about it and I’ve still got the book at home.

Niall Alcock: [00:30:54] Do you read it?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:30:55] Yes I did. It was fantastic. It’s very helpful. It was great. It was a wonderful child that did that. You know, there are so many stories like that. Children make you laugh, you know, and it’s important.

But other staff make you laugh as well, you know. People work better when they feel comfortable and they’re relaxed a little bit more. I’ve enjoyed going to the most challenging places in the most challenging areas, in the most tense situations and trying to give everybody that air of confidence and the air of feeling comfortable and actually just focusing back on, “Let’s make a difference to children” because that’s what I get up every day to do.

Niall Alcock: [00:31:28] You mentioned confidence, comfort, trust and helping staff feel valued. What are the secrets to doing that because that’s an emerging theme that’s coming out of these interviews?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:31:38] Well, you give them the framework where they can get on with their job. You try to make behaviour the best as you possibly can. So, there are fewer challenges for them to face. You try to be as fair as you possibly can. You’re working with people, you know, the nonsense of 1265, really.

Niall Alcock: [00:31:55] 1265?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:31:56] 1265 is the framework of how much contact time you give teachers. You know, the legal framework, and how many meetings you have, the flexibility that you have within a school. You know, the CPD investment that I’ve talked about.

Sometimes I think there could be smaller classes. You go round my schools here, sometimes there are small classes. Who does that help more? Probably it helps the teacher more. But great.

You know, the free time that you give them. You know, when you turn around and say “Look, thanks very much for doing the cover but you’ve all done enough cover now. Let’s get some cover teachers in the next few weeks”. You know, working with staff and taking a duty of care on that, to take an investment in there. So you know why you’re having time off and trying to prevent that happening.

There’s all this care and individual attention that you give to individual teachers. Saying that there’ll be some teachers out there who will say, “Well, Chris, you didn’t do that for me”, or whatever. But for the majority of people, to look after them like that is really important. You know your staff, you know your students, you know the school and the organisation that you work with.

Niall Alcock: [00:32:56] As a teacher in a school you don’t often get to know about all that care and attention and the thought that goes into you as a teacher and the students from a headteacher’s perspective. So, it’s very nice to have that insight. Thank you.

Chris Tomlinson: [00:33:05] Yeah.

Niall Alcock: [00:33:05] Final question. The future of education: What does it look like? Why are you optimistic about it and what do we need to do to make sure it happens?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:33:13] Well I’m optimistic about it because people are getting better. Education’s improved since I went to school and people have improved. People are running faster. People are throwing the javelin further. People are getting cleverer. And they are.

This is nonsense to think “Not like not like the old days”. Well, actually, people are smarter now than they were. That’s what’s happening. So, I think that will have a knock-on effect in education.

I think the leadership will improve. If you look at any element of society, things have developed. Not always, some people say, in a positive way. But I think in education it has.

I like the emphasis, at the moment, on mental health and the pastoral side of things in school. I think that’s really important. I think ICT — but I do think education is behind in the game for ICT. If you look at companies and businesses just because of the investment they have. I think there are huge opportunities there that have yet to be explored.

I would like to see, nationally, move away from systems — whether somebody is an academy and whether they are part of a local authority or not and schools working more collaboratively together with a whole range of work. Working within areas together more successfully. I think that’s important. So I would like to see education become more united. Because at the moment I think is a bit fragmented.

Niall Alcock: [00:34:31] How do we bring it all together?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:34:33] Yeah, exactly. I just think, at the moment, I think education has become far too competitive.

Niall Alcock: [00:34:40] Between schools?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:34:41] Yeah. Between schools and within itself. I would like to see it become more the sum of all the parts if I could use that expression. You know, we are all contributing. We are working towards that. I think that’s important.

Niall Alcock: [00:34:54] How do you think we might do that practically?

Chris Tomlinson: [00:34:56] There was a time when there was little accountability and then we’ve gone through lots of accountability. I don’t think it is just about accountability. But I think there is a situation, you know, you’ve got a situation in schools where, at the moment, half are succeeding and half are not with the progress measures that you have in schools. I don’t know how successful that is, to be honest.

I think Ofsted will change its dynamic. I hope it changes for educational reasons not for resources reasons. I think that’s really important. I think Ofsted will change like that. I think Ofsted could change that because I think schools are better at self-evaluating their own standards. I think that’s the case.

What will happen no doubt, just like we had Specialist Schools then we had Academies, something else will come along and there’ll be another bandwagon to jump on.

But I hope people don’t forget the fundamental principles of education, which is really important. That we’re here building the next generation of global citizens. I think that’s really, really important.

I would just like to see all those schools, in all areas of the country, producing a fantastic day to day experience for their students. That’s what I would like to see. The focus and the capability and the ability to do that is a real possibility. That’s what I would like to see.

Niall Alcock: [00:36:10] Chris, that’s a lovely note to end on. Thank you very much for your time and for your insight. Maybe we can catch up in six to twelves months’ to time to see if those predictions have come true.

Chris Tomlinson: [00:36:16] Absolutely.

Who are we?

I’ve been working in partnership Teach First, the Young Foundation and Super Being Labs to build a community of teachers and senior leaders who are solving big challenges in their schools.

You can read more about We Are In Beta and how you can get involved here.

To stay up to date with interviews from the community when we release them, sign up here.

If you enjoyed this interview, check out Episode 7of the We Are In Beta Podcast with Hannah Wilson, Executive Headteacher at Aureus Primary and Secondary Schools, Oxfordshire (and soon to be Head of Secondary Initial Teacher Training (ITT) and Buckingham University), on how to create a mentally healthy school.

Listen on: Spotify | iTunes | Stitcher | TuneIn | Libsyn | Podbean

--

--

We Are In Beta
We Are In Beta

‘We’ the education community ‘Are In Beta’ always learning