Jeffrey Anthony
Sep 13, 2024

--

The opening question is great and is essentially my project here on Medium. I was thinking, what may be the best one to share in this comment, and a piece I wrote a few months back may serve well my ideas on the topic.

https://medium.com/@WeWillNotBeFlattened/frankenstein-pollock-and-the-algorithmic-void-the-limits-of-ai-generated-art-ea8d77bf1846

In this piece I explore the fundamental differences between human creativity and AI content. Unlike AI, human artistic expression is rooted in embodied experience, temporality, and context and this is KEY! I look at how Mary Shelley came to writing Frankenstein and also look at the work of Jackson Pollock and the embodied nature of his art. For me true art emerges from the interplay of our embodied, contextually and temporally bounded struggles. AI works only with decontextualized, detemporalized data and can not generate art.

--

--

Jeffrey Anthony

Exploring art, culture, & society. Delving into AI, meritocracy, music, & resonance in an age of disenchantment. Seeking meaning in a complex world.