Pug Myths

Welcome to the Grumble
5 min readAug 17, 2023

--

Pugs are mythical creatures. They are ancient dogs and possess their own unique qualities that differ from other breeds. I tell people that are considering getting a pug, it’s not just a pet, it’s a lifestyle. Sometimes, we will have people that come to our meetups that are thinking about getting a pug and they want to see how they act, and they usually have questions along with misconceptions. There are a lot of myths out there about our brachycephalic cuties. Let’s debunk some myths.

Don’t believe what you here about pugs.

Pugs Don’t Shed

This one gets me the most. I usually do my evil laugh when people tell me this. I heard this from non-pug owners all the time. The reason behind this is the perception of the pug’s short coat. With a double coat, pugs shed like crazy! They also shed even more with seasonal changes and anxiety. Some have told me they might get a black pug over a fawn pug because they do not shed. While black pugs shed less due to a single coat, they still shed. When I explain the shed dread to prospective pug parents, some look at me in horror. If you want a pug, embrace the pug glitter.

100% true!

Pugs are Unhealthy

They can’t breathe. They are always in pain. They are overweight. Another big misconception. Yes, the pug breed is susceptible to certain aliments, but so is every other dog breed on the planet. Pugs can live healthy lives. Not all pugs need their nares enlarged to improve their breathing. I have had four pugs, and all had clear nasal passages and are in good health. My pugs and most of the pugs I have met in my travels are not overweight. Pug owners do a good job of maintaining weight as it improves energy level and overall health.

Pugs live healthy lives.

Pugs Die Young

The percentage of pugs dying young is a relatively small number. While some pugs can have PDE (Pug Dog Encephalitis), the rate that this disease affects pugs is approximately 1%. Most pugs live as long as other breeds. At our pug meetup, we used to have a 19-year-old pug come and walk around and lay in the sun. Currently we have a lot of seniors that come out to the meetup and run along with the younger pugs. Pugs can live to and over their life expectancy of 12 to 15 years.

Doug the Pug is now a healthy senior!

Pugs Come in One Color

Reuben is my black pug and I always have people ask what kind of dog he is and when I tell them he is a pug they ask if he’s mixed with another breed. Reuben is a pure-bred pug. There are pugs of many colors: fawn, black, silver, apricot, pink, white, and brindle just to name a few. Each color will have its own unique traits and characteristics.

The Pugs of Many Colors

Pugs’ Eyes Pop Out all the time

While there is truth to this, a pug’s eyes do not pop out all the time. I heard from people that the eyes will fall out if their collar or harness is too tight. I even heard their eyes will pop out when they get scared. It would take a freak accident or occurrence for this to happen.

Don’t pop your eye out!

Pugs are Lazy

So wrong. My guys love going for walks, they play and chase each other. My vet has told me that she cannot find an ounce of fat on Reuben’s body. Pugs need regular exercise just like any other dog. They have zoomies a few times a day. There are a ton of pugs out there that compete in agility. Some like swimming, hiking, and mountain climbing. Walks and activities are essential to keep a pug healthy.

Pugs can be athletes

Pugs are Ugly

My husband was out with one of the boys and someone told him he didn’t like pugs because they were ugly and looked like Angela Lansbury. Really? I know beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but let’s look at the facts. Right now, there are about six different commercials running featuring a pug to promote the product and brand. Have you seen any movies lately? A pug is featured in the Kingsman and Men in Black franchises. TV shows have pugs in them such as Poldark, House of Dragons, and The Lincoln Lawyer. People love pugs. I have had people stop their cars in the middle of the road just to say hi to the pugs. I don’t think people would do this if they were ugly.

Pugs are beautiful!

As you have learned, pugs are colorful beautiful creatures that omit pug glitter, but not their eyes, that live long and healthy lives. If you are thinking about adding a pug to your home, go to a meetup. Pug parents will give you all the information you need.

--

--

Welcome to the Grumble

Pug Mom, meetup organizer, pug advocate, and content writer: An overall pug enthusiast. 🐾