Parenting and mobile: What my 2 year old taught me, or, things happen in 3s

Scotty Tate
2 min readMar 27, 2016

I was just settling in after my son’s bedtime to write an article about parenting, focusing on the beauty of brushing your teeth with hockey skates on (for real), when I stumbled upon this article.

Thanks for reminder number 3 on my way to Mobile Recovery Jeremy Vandehey.

Number 1 if you’re curious, was a good friend and business partner, Andrew J Mckee lending me his Kindle to read “Deep Work” by Cal Newport. The ideas in this book, and those of one of my coaches echo the sentiment in this article, don’t look at that screen unless it’s in your calendar.

Number 2, and the real reason I wanted to share this response, comes from my son. And for full disclosure, he’s given me this reminder/command before “Deep Work” came into my life…

No daddy, phone [a]way. Phone in pocket

I think he told me this a few months ago and as much as I listened, agreed and obeyed, I didn’t let it really sink in.

I can rationalize with the best of us, and starting a business while running a practice as a health professional means being accessible and ready to respond to make the money needed to have us all fed and watered… right?

I’m anxious just thinking about it, but I’m about to snap that before and after pic of the front page of my screen and heed the advice that’s coming from everywhere- but as much as I love Newport’s book and this article, my son said it best.

After: I’m happier already, thanks again for the extra push.

--

--

Scotty Tate

connect, explore, play, build. @motustrainingstudio.com we grow people @home we grow a family @medium I’m trying social/writing, again