If My Pink Sneakers Could Talk

Wendy Davis
2 min readJun 25, 2015

--

“In these shoes, we made history.” Share your six-word story today using #mysolestory. You may be selected to join me in person later this year as we share our stories together.

Two years ago, in Texas, across the country, and even around the world, people from all walks of life stood with me as we provoked what became the “People’s Filibuster.” From dorm rooms to living rooms, from Twitter to Facebook, from Barack Obama to Lena Dunham, you joined the chorus of voices shouting out against dangerous efforts to curtail women’s reproductive freedoms.

Since that historic day, whether I’m speaking to university students or when I’m out jogging, I always get asked the same question: “Where are your pink sneakers?”

I get it. My pink sneakers tell a story about me. They tell a story about the power of standing up even when the deck is already stacked. They tell a story about the journey I took to stand on the senate floor that day. They also tell a story about us. They tell a story of our shared power to unite for a common cause and to overcome great odds. And as we saw two years ago, this power is made possible when we share our stories.

In commemoration of that day, I’m asking you to engage in a little story telling with me again. Specifically:

What story would your shoes tell about you?

Here’s how it works:

1) Join me today in posting a picture of a pair of your shoes on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram (or all three!) using the hashtag #mysolestory.

2) In 6 words, describe the story that those shoes tell about you.

3) Tag 5 others in your post who you think have an inspiring story to tell.

4) Five stories and the people who tell them will be chosen to join me in person later this summer so that I can lift up their stories as testimony to the power we gain from sharing our stories.

That’s it.

6 Words. 2 Shoes. 5 People.

One raised voice reminding those in power that we’re still standing.

It was your stories that caught the attention of so many people that day, not my speech. It was the brave women and men who shared their deepest of truths, most personal of moments, and most difficult of decisions.

In the push and pull of policymaking, the stories of real people are often lost. Let’s change that. Today, the second anniversary of the People’s Filibuster, is as good a day as any to start.

Love,

-wendy

--

--