From Scholarship Winner to Engineer

Whirlpool Corporation
2 min readJul 30, 2019

--

Whirlpool Corporation Sons and Daughters Scholarship Winner Evan Hunsicker Using Award to Fund Environmental Engineering Degree at Harvard

By: Cean Burgeson

Evan and Brian Hunsicker

Each year, Whirlpool Corporation celebrates the winners of its Sons and Daughters Scholarship, an innovative scholarship program designed to reward students for excellent scholastic performance.. One of those students is Evan Hunsicker of Marion, Ohio.

“I’ve had an association with Whirlpool my whole life because my dad has worked here pretty much his entire career,” said Hunsicker, whose father Brian is a metrologist at Whirlpool Corporation’s Marion plant, where Evan is currently working in an engineering co-op role for the summer.

“I’m studying environmental engineering, so they have me in a role trying to reduce water usage in the plant.”

Hunsicker received the scholarship in 2017, and is currently attending Harvard.

“I’d always been aware of it and knew it was a big honor, since they only give a couple at each plant each year, and it’s a very generous scholarship,” he said. Hunsicker had already taken classes at Marion Technical College as well as some engineering classes at Ohio State during high school.

“As an environmental engineer, I’d like to hopefully do something that’s hands-on and possibly work outside, maybe gathering samples, things like that. I think that’d be an enjoyable career.”

He is already getting some “hands on” experience in his current co-op role with Whirlpool.

“A huge part of environmental engineering is water management,” said Hunsicker. “I’m definitely happy with where they placed me because I take more chemistry than some other engineering degrees do, and I’m glad I get to work with the chemicals here and see the whole process.”

Hunsicker’s grandfather also worked at the Marion plant in a logistics position, making Evan a third-generation employee. Whether he ends up following family tradition and returning to Whirlpool full-time after his studies or not, he wants to land a role with a company that believes in sustainability, and he values the experience he is getting.

“Whirlpool is such a huge company, I am getting an idea of the scale of environmental practices they have that I wouldn’t get working for a smaller company over the summer.”

--

--

Whirlpool Corporation

We are the Number One Major Appliance Manufacturer in the World. Here you’ll find stories about innovation, technology, IoT, our people, and places.