The Book Signing From Outer Space

I never saw it coming…

The Startup
Published in
7 min readJun 4, 2019

--

In the years so long ago when I worked in the corporate book industry I hosted a lot of book signings. Then, years later, when I owned my own bookstore I hosted many, many more book signings. I do not know the exact number but overall I have hosted hundreds of book signings. Out of all those book signings I am going to tell you about only one…

I call it, The Book Signing From Outer Space.

It blew every other book signing out of the water.

I am a bona fide book freak. I am also a writer and author of several books. It is only natural that I help out my fellow book freaks and authors in any way that I can. Hey, we’ve got to stick together, right?

So one day a young fella in his late twenties came into my bookstore introducing himself as Christopher O’Brien. He said that he just had his very first book published and that he would like to have his very first book signing at my store.

If anyone ever came into my bookstore saying something like that they immediately had my attention and support and enthusiasm. Like I said, I support authors but I was also a business man. Book signings are a very important part of running a bookstore. They may be lucrative or they might be a bust but they are an event. No bookstores are…

--

--