Services Un-Rendered: Abolish the Health Insurance Companies

Curtis Wildfang
6 min readOct 1, 2018

It cost (indebted) me $416 dollars for 15 minutes of my time just to see a doctor to tell me something I already knew for a problem I have never had the money for to fix over the span of 15 years of my life; the problem still isn't fixed and I can’t afford to fix it. What in the hell did I pay for? And why in the hell did I pay an insurance company who didn't cover me? This is the American health-care system, and it’s absolute trash. Which not only deserves to be thrown into the trash-bin of history, but at minimum the health insurance companies should be outright abolished.

If this was life threatening I would be dead, while my family would desperately go to GoFundMe at an attempt to save my life relying on the total probability of either strangers or close friends (if they’re even gracious enough to give money) to meet a likely ungodly health bill which they could never afford, because they’re poor just like me. Lucky for me, my problem only gives me daily non-stop suffering and is not life threatening, but what if it wasn't?

Out of curiosity I learned my health insurance company made $3.3 billion dollars in profit in 2017 alone… Profit, all marginal/overhead cost has been paid for, $3.3 billion and they couldn't cover me, I have just been giving them free money! The fact that we allow private insurance companies…

--

--