Q&A: My Views on Satanism

WolfSir
5 min readDec 16, 2015

--

L: Hi, I’m L. I saw your post online and was wondering if we could chat sometime. Thx. 😊

Me: Hi, what would you like to chat about?

L: I’ve been interested in becoming a Satanist and I would like to know more but I don’t personally agree with all of the rules of becoming one.

Me: There are no rules about becoming one. There may be rules to join particular organizations but there is no “one true” Satanist organization.

L: You’re right, but I just don’t know where to start. And it’s very hard when you live in a Christian family in a very small, religious town.

Me: I talk to a lot of people in that situation. What else would you like to know?

L: What is a Satanist to you?

Me: To Me Satanism is a philosophy — that is, a way of living life that is conducive to fulfillment and happiness. It’s not a religion, nor do I worship a literal Devil. In that sense I am an atheist, as are most Satanists. There are also those who call themselves “theistic” or “traditional” Satanists who are basically just “upside-down” Christians. Personally I really don’t consider them to be better off than Christians in that they carry a lot of the same, superstitious baggage.

To Me, “Satan” is an archetype. So, I strive to live by principles which I regard as “Satanic,” that is, in line with the Satanic archetype. I do enumerate what some of those principles are on My blog.

L: Okay I understand. Thank you. But why do people see Satanists as evil beings? People often see Satanists as evil people who drink blood and harm others but that’s not true. But I mean some Satanists may take things too far.

Me: Good question. Because most people are conditioned by our culture to view Satan as evil. But if you read the folklore in which he originated (much of it in the Bible) you see that the main things he actually did are bringing “forbidden” knowledge (the serpent in the Garden) and being a skeptic (for example, the book of Job.) These actions are anti-authoritarian, which of course makes “authorities” uncomfortable.

People are responsible for their own actions. If a Christian commits a hate crime, I don’t hold it against all Christians. I may fault their belief system for being prone to encouraging hatred or stupidity, but I don’t fault everyone in it, as individuals always pick and choose their personal interpretations of their belief systems. Same thing with Muslims, or Satanists, or Buddhists for that matter.

This is just one area where Satanism departs from Christianity. Christianity gives you a variety of convenient excuses to solve another problem of its own making: sin. “The Devil made me do it,” is a common one. Satanism provides no such excuses. You are your own God, and as such there is no higher authority for your actions.

L: How long have you been a Satanist? How are you treated when people find out about it?

Me: I’ve thought of Myself as a Satanist for over 15 years, but I’ve been very “out” about it for the last five or so. Most people who it actually comes up with are respectfully curious. I’m sure there are people who see the inverted pentagram pendant I wear and judge Me for it, but generally they don’t say anything.

Let Me be clear about this: you can believe whatever you want but you don’t have to be out about it if doing so causes you harm. Parents, schoolmates, “friends,” can all give you a lot of grief if you are too out about beliefs they don’t understand and of which they choose to remain willfully ignorant. One hallmark of My Satanism is wisdom, and sacrificing your life to be out about your beliefs just isn’t wise.

L: Do people ever act scared around you?

Me: Hm, have you seen the pictures of Myself I posted to My blog? Yes, some people feel intimidated by My presence, but not only because I’m a bodybuilder — it’s a number of things about Myself that I’ve cultivated, not for the purpose of being intimidating, but to develop My own personal power and project that when I wish. Just like you can sense when someone feels needy or desperate, you can also sense when a person is in control of themselves and is directing their own steps — that’s power.

L: Yeah. You said you wear a pentagram around your neck? What does it mean to you?

Me: First and foremost it’s a symbol of My love for Myself. It’s a reminder that being My own God is something that I want to continue to live up to every day.

To be honest, it’s also a pleasure to wear a symbol that I know some people feel trepidation towards. One form of Satanic “exercise” I use to increase personal power is antinomianism (“opposite-doing.”) Society says I shouldn’t be that out about wearing such symbols. So I do anyway. Of course, if I felt I were in a situation where I’d be putting Myself in harm’s way by having it out, I’d put it away. But that’s something I’ve rarely done.

Not all taboos are senseless, but many are. They are exercises in submission to authority. “Thou shalt not…” So by mindfully breaking them, literally or symbolically (via imagination or ritual) you take back that power.

L: Who is society anyways? Why do people listen to those laws? Why should I be rejected for who I am?

Me: Humans are social animals. Alone, we’re pretty unhappy and ineffectual. We need others. But that gives others influence over us. People crave power— no-one likes being truly powerless. So when people see the opportunity to take power, they often do. This can be friends, exes, relatives, co-workers, or just a random person on the street who glares at you or says something snarky. The question then becomes, are you going to let them have that power that they’re trying to take? This is something that you win or lose inside yourself, whether or not you express it outwardly.

L: I get what you’re saying. If my friends want to hate me, they will. I can’t stop that but I’m not going to change who I am for them. Thank you for your help!

Me: You’re welcome!

--

--