How did I self-learn iOS 11, Swift 4, and Metal2 API, ARKit and made a prototype in 2Weeks.

Wong Lok 黃樂 (LokLok)
2 min readAug 9, 2017

It’s hard to learn new stuff, but things get easier when you have small wins continuously by actually code different small apps.

I highly recommend this course that I already bought from udemy for two weeks ago, which I have no commission for recommending this course.

https://www.udemy.com/ios-11-app-development-bootcamp/

It has iOS11, Swift 4 and ARKit, and a lot of other goodies like marketing and design.

The way I learned metal is by coding small stuff at the beginning.

First I get to know what is really going on with the system architecture.

And then I go learn about this tutorial on Metal and Swift3

And then I try with GPU Compute

So that i can use GPU to calculate 1024 * 16 particles’s position

and then i render the particles.

Be aware that the articles may have old APIs, that you can try to google it and update to latest API.

Finally, i combine all the code with the Default ARKit XCode Project with Metal as Content technology and then i finally made it.

The Augmented reality APP with Firework and Particle Gravity Simulation on GPU and Metal Rendering APIs.

yayyy Thanks a lot for reading…

Much love,

loklok

--

--

Wong Lok 黃樂 (LokLok)

Walking Aphorism. Dreamer Doer. Love all win. Faith to win Nobel Prizes. Perpetuate Peace with Tech. Patch Broken Instinct Vessel