Rise Up

Carreen Schroeder
2 min readJun 8, 2020

(Dedicated to my three beautiful daughters)

I wake up to the reality of his foot just inches from my face

I have just enough liberty to adjust my eyes. I quickly glance left, then right

And I realize in that instant, that I am down

I dare not try to rise up but keep myself low to the ground

I do not want to stir emotion

If I move subtly, slowly, I can find a comfortable space

And I realize in that instant, that I am down

Speak, but do not speak about what truly haunts you

Laugh, but just don’t encourage too much attention

Listen to all that is said, let it go to your head

And I realize in that instant, that I am down

Overwhelming to come to the realization that I have never truly risen up

An impostor, fighting for everyone else but herself

A facade of such great strength and inspiration

A fool who is truly frightened by her own shadow

And I realize in that instant, that I am down

There is a fine line between selfishness and self dignity,

--

--