What Working With Five Companies Has Taught Me

Muskan Purohit l Writerspire
8 min readJul 23, 2023

--

You can’t hate your job. Wait, let me rephrase, you can’t afford to hate your job and if you do, you have to leave it for your sanity. Everybody works, they have to. I get the whole “but this isn’t what humans are supposed to do for the rest of their lives”, I literally agree but the world has changed and it looks like only some privileged people are able to enjoy their lives. Have you even seen how technology has taken over and how fast placed the world has become? I feel like I am not able to explain it and be articulate enough because I struggle too, literally a few days back, I was crying because I couldn’t accept the fact that I have to throw myself in the corporate world.

A little bit about myself before we dive deep into the lessons I have gathered. I am a 19-year-old girl from India who is currently pursuing her Bachelor’s, I have managed to gain some work experience and the reason behind why I have worked are many. To have some extra pocket money, not feel like a burden, test my patience and prepare myself for the real world, monetize my art, ignore spending time with my thoughts, and more. And till I can gain what I expect from my work, I consider it good enough to deal with. Now, I am not some aspiring entrepreneur, I have just worked since January 2023 and have had my fair share of real work-life experiences here and there. This means whatever I share is based on the work that I have, which usually revolved around content writing and social media management.

I won’t name all the companies or the people I have worked with but I also won’t mind talking about it personally if you plan to apply to any of those companies. After all, this is just my perspective and my observations.

The working sector is different from the world that we do live in as students. For someone who is making that change, it can be exhausting because you have to be available, accountable, and also, aware of your time and boundaries so you don’t end up undervaluing yourself or the work that you do. I have seen people doing unpaid internships, paying people to hire them as a part of the training process and I always made sure that I didn’t fall for it. However, I also realize that some job profiles might require that but if you are providing any value to the organization you are working for, you should be getting paid for it as you are contributing with your time and skills.

In India, people are already unemployed or underpaid so getting a job is always going to be hard. Yes, even if you have the potential. That’s why you go for internships and if you end up liking that company, you can convert it to a job too or utilize meaningful connections that you built there. I still have one company in mind that I would love to go back to if they pay me enough in the future so I can sustain my life. I am still new, I am still learning, I am still one of you guys and I have struggled, felt stupid, and what not ever since I started working when I started college. But here are a few things that I have learned or plan to learn as I move forward:

Don’t be shy to ask questions

If you don’t understand anything, ask questions. It is okay if you are the only one confused about it (trust me, you are never alone and somebody always ends up messing up because they don’t understand the goal) because you asking questions just shows how passionate you are to get it right. And there’s no point in completing a task and then complaining that you were not instructed right. It is not as big of a deal as it seems and if the leader of the project is annoyed or not helpful enough when you seek help, then it is on them and not on you! Always expose yourself with your doubts as it only opens a new way for you to learn.

It’s your money, don’t be afraid to be paid right

One thing that I learned recently is that you should never be afraid to be paid the right amount that you deserve. I had this one experience that really taught me that I am capable of providing some value and that means that a company should invest in me if they want to enjoy my services. I sound rude, don’t I? But this is how the world works. If I am working for money (even though I only take up the work that is more enjoyable than bearable), I better get the recognition and the payment for it.

I have and I still work with people as a freelancer and they are always lazy when it comes to paying but I am sure nobody would simply enjoy it if I delay tasks the same way. It is disheartening really but I try to speak up and bother people because it is my reward for all the hard work that I do after all. Also, make sure that you charge right according to your services, Consider the time, energy, and effort you will be putting into it.

Relationships with colleagues hold more significance than you can imagine

Luckily, in my first internship, I made a lot of friends. Every meeting was fun with them because I could gossip later and make reels. That was the work ethic we practiced and it was one of my best experiences ever! I learned that my colleagues will always have my back, that is what teamwork looks like. And now, I don’t think much before talking to my colleagues about their salaries, workloads, and more. I of course respect their personal space but I also understand that since we are working in the same environment, we might as well be able to connect easily.

Also read: My first internship experience — Muskan Purohit at Girl Power Talk

It is always nice to know what they are up to and even if they leave the company, you can keep an eye on what they are doing and learn from them if they worked in the same department as yours. I have people from countries to talk to and people who became self-published writers and people who went to study abroad and more, all because I learned how to connect with people at work. But I recently worked with somebody where I knew just two people and then this other place where I didn’t know a single person’s position I worked with as I was treated as a stereotypical intern. I hated it and didn’t last a month, you know what this means now.

Criticise, take accountability, and more: Be a leader!

One thing that a person might struggle with as soon as they begin working as a professional is taking accountability, making decisions, and then, preparing oneself to deal with the consequences. But at a workplace, I find nothing more attractive than being able to answer whatever is thrown at you. Why didn’t you submit the report? I was busy preparing for my exam. Why didn’t you just communicate it or take a leave? I wasn’t granted leave as I took enough of them when my dad was sick. I can report by tonight. Can you incorporate the edits I suggested? Yes, I can analyze them, do my research, and make the required edits. Quiet simple, isn’t it?

Leading a project or even your tasks requires work so take up only the amount of work that you will be able to deal with. I have also learned that when you try to do too much more than you are required, you take away somebody else’s opportunity to learn to get it right. If somebody messes something up at work and you are supposed to work on the next step of the process, you have to make sure that you constructively criticize the initial step first. It is not your responsibility to do everything, there is a reason why tasks are divided but what you must focus on is making people get it right.

Nobody will respect you unless you respect yourself and have some boundaries: Divide work and personal life

I grew up seeing my dad failing to do that and it hurts. Mostly because he ends up stressing himself out and we don’t like that for him. I struggle with it too, I don’t know how many times my boyfriend has to deal with my tantrums because I can’t tolerate my co-worker’s late replies or because I get annoyed when payment is pending. It gets harder when you are a freelancer or don’t dedicate any specific time of the day to work. For this one internship, I decided to only take up tasks that I will be able to do during working hours. Boundary constructed, correct? Then, at this one place, I had promised that I will work 5 hours so if writing an article takes longer than that, I am gonna have to ask for a later deadline. Communicated properly? Check!

It is hard to communicate or say no, I know, I am people pleaser. I always try to impress people but nah, if a position requires me to cancel my family dinner and work then I might as well please some other recruiter at some other company. Or again, simply ask if you are getting paid for the overworking hours as well, haha!

It is an ongoing process, don’t be so hard on yourself!

The truth is that we are all learning and the people who have more knowledge than you, are not a threat but simply another mentor. Always remember that people have something to teach you, be it what an employer should be or shouldn’t be! Expose yourself to opportunities, put yourself at risk if it teaches you something, speak up for yourself, present your best work, and leave where you are not acknowledged.

I was struggling with work this summer, I felt I couldn’t do this corporate thing. But I understand that I can make a choice to even leave because I am not that much in need of it right now but till when? I will have to pay bills someday and by no means, I am promoting having a job that makes you miserable but I am just saying that there’s always a good side, appreciate it, and check it if it is worth all the hardships. Only you can decide if you can afford to keep or leave a job.

I talk a lot about such topics, here. Subscribe to stay updated :)

--

--

Muskan Purohit l Writerspire

Words and ideas can really change the world and that's exactly why I am here to express myself through it and make this world a better place to be in.